Blogging 101: The Commons

Day Eleven: Make a Prompt Personal

Today’s assignment: publish a post based on your own, personalized take on a blogging prompt.To find our Daily Prompt, head to the The Daily Post — you’ll see the prompt in an orange box on the middle-right side of the screen.

Learning Style

What’s your learning style? Do you prefer learning in a group and in an interactive setting? Or one-on-one? Do you retain information best through lectures, or visuals, or simply by reading books?

This prompt takes me down memory lane. I have always liked to read by myself. When in school I remember studying for the tests, sitting by myself. If there was a cricket match going on the radio would be switched on and the commentary in the background. :)) But, now cricket no longer interests me, I feel there is an overdose of cricket. Earlier there had been a season for everything. Those were the days of the radio and there would be some music in the background.

Later in college, I loved to study in the library, surrounded by books. There is always something fascinating about books. A few years ago, I visited my college and the library seemed as fascinating as it had been long back.
524268_10151956028350183_45515802_n

In 1999, I wanted to continue my studies. History has always fascinated me. So I joined our State University which has a Distance Education programme. It was fun and challenging to study. After my children left for school, I used to read all the books and it was really very interesting. I still remember being so scared about the exams and I almost refused to write. But my husband encouraged me. And once I started writing everything I had read came back to me. I was in a different world.

Image0153

We keep learning every moment of our lives . I love reading and enjoy doing so when I am by myself. I get so involved in the book so it is always nice when I am alone.When we are others I feel we cannot concentrate on the book completely.

Blogging University

3 Replies to “Blogging 101: The Commons”

  1. In actual sense, when you have cultivated a healthy reading habit for long, writing would be a lot easier. But, there is always a barrier when you want to start writing for the reason only you know. Anyway welcome to the writing world. There is so much to write about India, generally and about Kerala, particularly.

  2. How similar are your thoughts on learning to my own 🙂 I always loved to read and learn about all the world around me. For the past 15 years I have been homeschooling my three sons and I have loved every minute of it. All their early years we read together an enormous amount of books and learned about everything that interested them. Now that they are older and study on their own, I also read on my own 🙂 And I read a lot. I am considering college classes as well. Well, you have inspired me again 🙂

Comments are welcome :)

