The Daily Post, Discover Challenge : Witness

Who is your witness? Who sees you when you write (or draw, or snap a photo)? Do you ever imagine anyone observing you, whether over your shoulder or from across the room? Whether it’s a person, an animal, an inanimate object, or something else entirely, publish a post — in prose or in verse, or in any non-textual medium you love working in — about it/them/her/him.
I have always loved reading and now  blogging has opened a new world , a world of writing and reading to me. Whenever I write there are two people somewhere at the back of my mind, my grandfather and my son.

My earliest memories of my grandfather is of listening to him tell us stories. My grandmother had passed away when my father was only 12. My father remembers with love about growing up with his father. My grandfather had been a teacher all his life. He taught English and Mathematics and  was the Headmaster of the Municipal High School in a small town in the northern part of our state. After retiring he lived with us for some months and with my father’s elder brother and family. He used to read out to us stories from our epics. When he was away from us he used to write regularly and we replied with love. From the moment I could understand he brought alive the world of books. That love is still with me. I cannot imagine life without books, reading or writing. My grandfather passed away in 1980, but he still lives for me. This photo was taken about fifty years ago 🙂

DSC03667

My son has a vision problem called Retinitis Pigmentosa from birth. We did not want him to miss out the world of books. I used to describe so much to him and read out from the start till a few years ago. He is doing his Phd in English Literature. Even now when he comes home I read out something. We enjoy those moments. For the past many years he has a talking software called JAWS and Open Book in his computer to read all that he wants to and has to read. This photo was taken in 1986 🙂
249476_10150634743340183_7206171_n

 

 

 

 

2 Replies to “The Daily Post, Discover Challenge : Witness”

Comments are welcome :)

