The Daily Post Discover challenge : Transcript

For this week’s challenge, we ask that you, too, take something ephemeral and non-digital and bring it to your blog for all of us to enjoy and reflect on. Of course, not all of us have access to a collection of century-old journals. So let’s define “transcribing” as broadly as possible: you could share an old photo from your childhood album, or snap a photo of a handwritten note from your best friend when you were 11. Record yourself singing a tune that hasn’t made it to iTunes, draw a sketch of your favorite room in your grandparents’ house, or simply write down a memorable conversation that would otherwise be lost to time.

ajjas-letters

Letter writing has become a thing of the past. Long back I used to write letters and make greeting cards for the occasion and post them to my friends and relatives. But now it is WhatsApp or emails or the mobile. Times change and we have to change with the times. But, I write one letter every year and, that is to  my Professor from my college days. More than fifteen years ago I went back to my college from where I had graduated in 1982. My favourite Sir was still teaching then. I was happy when he recognized me. We, students, remember our teachers but teachers have thousands of students. I was pleased when he remembered  me. The end of every year I write a long letter to him and he replies. And this letter is because he does not have a mobile phone and is not interested in the computer and the internet!

While writing the letter, memories of my paternal grandfather come to mind .He was very dear to us. He used to write to us regularly when he was away from us and we always replied back. Sometimes when we made mistakes in the language or the spellings, he would tell us about it in the next letter ,he had been a teacher all his life. It really helped us. I have still got some of his letters and a Scrap Book and his pen 🙂

My grandfather lived with us and with my father’s elder brother and family. When the Olympics take place I remember him. I was in primary school during the Munich Olympics in 1972. Actually I do not remember anything about those games but what I do remember is the time I spent with my grandfather. We had taken a note book and every day after my returning from school we stuck in it the paper clippings of all the different events taking place at Munich. He used to cut and keep them ready .I still have that note book with me. 🙂

He was a teacher of English and Maths, he had been the HeadMaster of a Government High School in a small town in Karnataka, till his retirement. He then stayed with his two
sons. My grandmother had passed away in 1943. He passed away in 1980 but our memories of him are as fresh as ever.

The Daily Post Discover challenge : Transcript

2 Replies to “The Daily Post Discover challenge : Transcript”

Comments are welcome :)

