Going to School (Slice of Life)

 

slice-of-life_individual

“Are you an Ayah?” asked her daughter. I was told this by the young lady who works as a care-giver in a Home for the Mentally challenged. She said she did not know how to answer the question. But after a moment’s thought, she replied that her work involved looking after a little boy. With sadness in her voice, she confided in me that if she had been able to continue her studies, her life would have been different.

She is just thirty-three years old, but has studied only up to 7th grade. Long back, about two generations ago, girls completed only primary school and were married off at a very young age. But now that is not so. I asked her the reason for her dropping out of school so early in the present times. She told me that she and her parents had lived with her maternal grandparents. Her grandfather had been a very strict person. He believed that education was not necessary for girls. They were agriculturists, and he said that education was not needed for working in the paddy fields. She was married off early, and her two children are studying in primary school. She is determined that they should get a good education.

Listening to her, I was reminded of my paternal grandfather. He grew up in a hamlet. After completing his primary education, his father took him out of school for two reasons: he had no money to provide education to his only son; and the high school was in the city far away from the village. After a few years, financial problems forced his father to move the family to the city in order to find work. This was a turning point in my grandfather’s life. At the age of 17, when he was much older than his classmates he joined school again and went on to complete BA Honours in Mathematics and English. This was in 1916. He writes in his memoirs that he would always be grateful to his father for making it possible for him (his son) to continue his education after the family’s move to the city.

My grandfather was a teacher and a very good one. During his time, many students would drop out of school for one reason or another (usually financial problems). He encouraged his students to study well and continue their education. Due to this encouragement most of them went on to acquire good jobs. He also succeeded in providing very good education to his children. That legacy continues in our family to this day. Now my grandson, that is my grandfather’s great-great grandson is going to school.

‘You can’t cross the sea merely by standing and staring at the water.’
Rabindranath Tagore

IMG_20161113_094315

Going to School (Slice of Life)


Comments

17 responses to “Going to School (Slice of Life)”

  1. Educated women want educated children. And then the whole of society benefits and so does the nation.

    Like

    1. Very true dear Sir. This young woman is very clear about her goals. She wants her children to be educated. I am sure her dream will come true. Regards, Lakshmi

      Like

  2. It is good that you came from an enlightened family, and that things are changing

    Like

    1. Yes Derrick, things are changing. We have to thank my grandfather’s father for making it possible for him to continue his schooling 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Education is such an important human right, and yet so many people don’t have access to it. Thanks for the reminder and for the appreciation of your family who values and prioritizes education, regardless of gender or economic status.

    Like

    1. Thanks 🙂 and yes, education is an important right 🙂

      Like

  4. My grandfather’s education went only to third grade. He was a farmer, and wise about the land. My mother graduated from high school. She also was self-educated in the job she did, helping many college graduates who came into the office where she worked get a good start in their careers. I graduated from college and became a teacher. My daughter is getting ready to work on a master’s degree. She is a behavior therapist working with autistic children. With every kind of education, along with common sense and empathy, we create our own best life and contribute to others.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so glad to read this, your grandfather would have been pleased. Thank you for sharing 🙂

      Like

  5. llsmiles Avatar
    llsmiles

    Thank you for sharing your story. What a beautiful legacy your grandfather started and you continue.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much 🙂

      Like

  6. This was not only the attitude in India. My parents refused to let me study past grade 12. It took till my mid thirties before I could pay my own way through university.

    Like

    1. I wonder why did they do that ? But I am so glad you could go to University. Regards.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was merely a way to control women!

        Like

  7. Even though my family valued education, it was only so far for girls. I put myself through graduate school while my parents put my brother through medical school.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This happens everywhere, why does this happen ?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I remain puzzled to this day.

        Like

  8. well written! impressive post!

    Like

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.