Everyday Moments (#SOL-2019)

slice-of-life_individual
My weekly Slice of Life are my letters to my Doddamma. She is my father’s elder brother’s wife. Doddamma literally means ‘elder mother’. She is 88 years old. She cannot hear properly if I telephone to talk to her. So, I have been writing letters to her since October 2017. I enjoy writing letters and she is happy to read them. They are only about the everyday moments in my life. I post my letters to her every week.

15-10-19
We are still getting occasional rains, usually in the evenings to the accompaniment of thunder and lightning. And today afternoon it was like an orchestra out there with rain. It was very dark too. But we could go for a walk though it was very cloudy.

20191015_174839

One evening we went for a walk around the lake in our place. It is good to see so much water but the level has come down a little. There are two small islands in the lake covered with trees. It is a resting and nesting place for many birds. It is a pleasure to see them flying back home.

20191011_180757
I have been going to Asare, home for the mentally challenged. Life is going on there as usual. Nursing students are posted there. Most of them are from our neighbouring state, Kerala. We were talking to two students who are from this place. Theirs is a different world, that of their classes and the hospital.

On the 9th my husband went to our village to be with his father. His brother wanted to attend a function in a relative’s home. Someone has to be with my father-in-law. My husband returned on the 11th.

On the 10th my son and I attended a talk by Dr Parul Mukherji on Mimesis. It was an interesting talk and I was hearing about this for the first time.

We use some varieties of colacasia leaves and the stems in some of our food preparations. I tried a new recipe on Saturday. I prepared the steamed ‘pathrode’ at night for Sunday breakfast. That morning I cut the cooked ‘pathrode’ and shallow fried it on the iron pan. It was good.

20191013_105342

Today evening my husband and son attended a classical flute concert. I like music but I prefer to listen at home. Somehow, I find it difficult to sit through a concert 😊. But I do attend some Hindustani or Carnatic vocal music concerts. My husband and son enjoy understand the various nuances of classical music and enjoy attending concerts.
I am enjoying books by Marcia Willet and I am now reading a fascinating book, The Circle of Reason by Amitav Ghosh.

‘For every time I see the sky, I’m aware of belonging to the universe than to just one corner of the earth.’    –  Ruskin Bond

20190920_112947

https://jnu.academia.edu/ParulMukherji

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mimesis

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carnatic_music

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hindustani_classical_music

http://www.konkanifoodrecipes.com/recipes/colocasia-leaves-with-rice-floor-baked-in-steam-pathrode-or-pathrado


Comments

6 responses to “Everyday Moments (#SOL-2019)”

  1. Your weather seems to be like ours. We have had rain every day for quite a while now, and everywhere is getting rather wet!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was very interested by what you wrote about pathrode. I have a recollection of sampling it only once when I was a child. There is a Konkhani restaurant down the road, and I’m thinking of checking if they have it on their menu. Regards. SAN

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pathrode can be made with cabbage too. My cousin’s wife made it with beetroot leaves. I take two glasses of raw rice, 1/4 glass black gram and 1/4 glass green gram. Soak them for an hour. Then grind coarsely adding red chillies, coriander seeds, tamarind, salt and asafoetida. Mix the leaves or cabbage and steam in idli making vessel.

      Like

  3. I like the description of the rain as like an orchestra – and the pathrode

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That is a very interesting dish. I especially enjoy seeing the foods you prepare since they are mostly all new to me. What kind of books does Marcia Willet write?

    Like

  5. It is always good to see the birds returning. I, too, like the comparison of the storm to an orchestra. It makes it sound much less frightening.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.