#SoCS July 25/2020

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “check/cheque/Czech.” Use one, use ’em all, use ’em any way you’d like. Have fun!

The word cheque brought to mind an incident which happened long back. My mother told me about it. In those days the finances of the family were usually looked after by the men. My father worked in the Indian railways and the salary was not very high and my mother used to say by the end of the month there was hardly any money in hand. She kept some rupees hidden away to be used in the last week of the month. We never knew shortage in any way and our needs too were not much. We lived in the campus and life was all about going to school, coming back, finishing homework and going out to play 😊.

In the seventies television first appeared on the scene. Two or three families had them and they were very kind enough to allow children and adults to gather in their houses on Sunday evenings to watch the movie on Door Darshan, the only TV channel then. We used to check the movie to be shown on Sunday evening, in the newspaper and if it was something that we wanted to see, we would go to their house. It was fun.

To come back to my mother, she told me she had never been to a bank in those days. One day my father told her to take a cheque, go to the bank and cash it. She was so scared that she asked her close friend to come with her. The friend too had never been to the bank. The two ladies went together and very anxiously asked one staff to help them. He was very kind and helped them to encash the cheque. Since then my mother had gone to the bank many times with my father but she was never very comfortable with it.

And I also remember her words when thinking about life. In those days she saved a little money which my father told her to keep aside for herself, it was a very small sum. To buy a sari, she had to save for many months. She would check the amount she had saved once in three months. Once she had the amount she needed, she would go to the shop with her friend to buy the sari. In 1979, a team of about five hundred people from Indian Railways were sent on deputation for three years to Nigeria. My parents had a wonderful time there. After returning from there my mother did not have to save money for months to buy a sari. She could buy one any time she wanted to. But she always said the joy that one sari gave after saving for months was very special. I think this holds good for most things in life.


Comments

13 responses to “#SoCS July 25/2020”

  1. What a beautiful post. I think your mother had a good philosophy about the sari.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a lovely post. Your mother was a very sensible woman.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. M. Sobhana Avatar
    M. Sobhana

    Life’s simplicity is well explained. Nice🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Soumya 2601 Avatar
    Soumya 2601

    Nice anecdotes from an era when little things brought great joy 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the wisdom in this story and will be more grateful for simple joys.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I agree! Very special to work toward a goal and finally reach it. Beautiful lesson for all of us from your sweet mom,

    Liked by 1 person

  7.  Avatar
    Anonymous

    Such a cute post !! Made me to re-visit my childhood days :):) small things brought memorable and special joy!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kavitha Rajaguru Avatar
    Kavitha Rajaguru

    An ode to yesteryears life which embodied simple living and high thinking.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I think that is a lesson that children today are lacking. The discipline of saving a small sum over a period of time, and the joy of eventually being able to buy something that is then forever precious.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. People certainly wouldn’t have their problems with credit cards and debts, if they had to save up for whatever they wanted, rather than just buy it, and try to pay layer.

    Like

  11. Your last few lines are so right and remind me of my first cricket bat. I was about 14 in the mid 1950s. £5 for a bat for my birthday was beyond my parents’ means. I saved up half of it and they found the rest. A most treasured present.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Nice! We appreciate things better when they are harder to get.

    .

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.