Day 12 March SOLSC! #SOL23

We use turmeric in all the dishes that we make.  We have ginger and turmeric plants in our garden. A few weeks ago, we pulled out the rhizomes of the turmeric plants and washed them. I cut them into thin slices and dried them in the sun for a week and powdered them. This I have kept aside for medicinal purposes. Our doctor told us to add half a teaspoon of powder in warm water and drink it first thing in the morning. It helps in reducing cough.

Turmeric powder
Flower of the turmeric plant

I wrote earlier about Suma, the caregiver at Asare, getting tamarind from hometown and selling it here. On Wednesday I went to Asare. Earlier I had asked for two kgs the dried fruit. She told me that from February to April all people in her village are picking and processing tamarind. The fruit has to be deseeded and the fibrous material removed from it. For every seer of seeds removed the workers get Rs 20 as wage.

To the right is the new tamarind. The darker one is last years.

My mother used to tell me in her childhood her mother roasted tamarind seed on embers. The children would chew them on the way to school and loved them. I have stored some of the tamarind in the fridge. I prepare juice out of it for the summer months. To the rest I added salt and stored in a glass jar. Tamarind becomes darker with age. We use it in our daily cooking to get the sour taste. According to some tamarind is not good for those suffering from arthritis. They use kokum. I use it too. Kokum is a red coloured fruit. If I get fresh fruits, I make juice with peels. Or the peels are sun dried and used later. We get them in the market too. They give a nice red colour to the dish.

We use many spices too. For any vegetable sambhar I make the masala using black gram dal, coriander seeds, fenugreek seeds, Asafoetida and red chillies. I fry them in a little oil and grind the spices with fresh coconut gratings to a paste. This mixture is added to cooked vegetables and water. The sambhar is boiled and seasoned with red chillies and mustard seeds. This adds an extra flavour to the dish. Different spices are used for different sambhars.

I remember in the early days of our marriage, it took me so much time to cook anything 😊. My husband knows to cook. When our children were small, they insisted that he should make dosas for them. He used to make them thin and crisp 😊.


Comments

12 responses to “Day 12 March SOLSC! #SOL23”

  1. I always love learning more about Indian spices. Turmeric and tamarind are among my favourites. Your husband’s dosas sound delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh- thank you for sharing how you prep these spices. I learned a lot from this post. Happy slicing (and cooking)!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have not had much Indian food, but what I have had always had a unique (delicious) taste because of the spices used in preparing the food.

    Like

  4. san cassimally Avatar
    san cassimally

    Of course with my Indian heritage, I am familiar with turmeric, ginger etc. All is available here, but you will be interested to know that fresh ginger can cost up to £10 a kilo.

    Like

      1. san cassimally Avatar
        san cassimally

        And what’s worse, is that our own people who run the” Indian groceries”, Indian and Pakistani traders are the worst profiteers.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. A fascinating SOL, thank you Lakshmi.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You make me tired thinking of all the work you do just to have spices and flavorings in your food. In the US, most of us open a jar or bottle and add the spice in when we are cooking. We may chop, slice, or shred things like fruits and vegetables, but we’re lazy in that we have opted for convenience, which is more expensive! We could learn a thing or two from you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is a fascinating, educational post. I know so little about most of these spices and nothing about the techniques you described, but I love spicy food. I tend to over-spice. Is that possible? I need to learn to make more Indian cuisine.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The amount of cooking you do from raw ingredients is huge compared to what usually happens in England.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh my gosh – you are making me hungry! And I learned more things from you. I didn’t know turmeric had such a beautiful blossom. I have never heard of kokum before. I wonder if I can find it in the US. Thank you for always bringing your world to us!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I am not familiar with Indian food or spices and enjoyed reading your slice. I am reading a book set in India and Paris right now. Perfect timing for me finding your post today.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.