#SoCS Oct. 7, 2023

We enjoy going to Endpoint for our evening walks. Our town is on a hill and one end is called Endpoint. Vehicles are not allowed there, and we can walk freely. A two-acre rainwater harvesting lake adds to the beauty of the place. As we walk to the end, we see River Swarna flowing towards the Arabian Sea.

I sit on a bench in a garden, not far from the entrance. My right foot is getting better, but the swelling has not subsided fully. The bench is beneath a tree and the lawn is a beautiful green. One evening I was busy reading when I saw two young girls. They were from a different country. They were pointing to something behind me and were taking photos with great excitement. I turned round to see cows in their prime. They were enjoying the grass. 😊. I have noticed that many foreigners are excited when they see cows walking on our roads. We see them often and they go about at their own pace, least bothered about the people or the vehicles.

Sitting on the bench I see children riding their bicycles. Either their mothers or their fathers run after them 😊. One evening a small boy and his mother were playing badminton. He was learning to hit the shuttlecock. When he could not hit it, he was telling his mother that she was not playing properly 😊. These days there are not many students. Either they are having vacations, or they are busy preparing for their exams. While writing this, I just realised that we see very few elderly people. I wonder why.

I remember my paternal grandfather. He walked regularly in the mornings and evenings. He passed away when he was 87 and was mentally and physically active till the end. I pray that I should leave this world as he did. But God knows what is written for us. My father too was very regular in his daily walks, but he had dementia and was bedridden for the last eight months of his life.
We can do our best to remain healthy. I enjoy trying to write different forms of poetry. They keep my mind active 😊. But some things are beyond our control.

Ovi Poetry Challenge 16: TRAP is your inspiration.
Birds flying high in the sky
Far beyond the scope of our eye
To this free world they bid goodbye
When caught in a trap of greed.

Active from morning to evening
From flower to flower flying
Drinking nectar and singing
Caging them is a tragedy.

The Ovi are in general, lyrical folk songs expressing love, social irony, and heroic events. They are written in the following scheme.
4 line stanzas, as few as one stanza and up to as many as you like.
8 syllables or less per line
Rhyming is AAAb. The second stanza would be CCCd. The third, EEEf. And so on. Meaning nothing in one stanza must rhyme with anything in the previous stanza. The fourth line does not rhyme.


Comments

9 responses to “#SoCS Oct. 7, 2023”

  1. Makes me want to retire in a place close to nature like where you are living in.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A fine stream. We, of course, see similar reactions to our free range animals

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely ovi and stream! It looks very beautiful there and you sense a kind of peace from your words and pictures ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You can help your foot a lot by keeping it elevated as much as possible. That makes it a lot easier to reduce the swelling.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I do that at night.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lovely place. Sounds very peaceful.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely photo of the trees and the lake. I a glad your foot is better, dear Lakshmi, and I hope you are not overdoing the walking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am being very careful Dolly. Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are most welcome, dear friend.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.