Day 18 of March SOLSC #SOL24 

18-03-24

In 1980 my parents purchased a house and two acres of land in Puttur. My mother’s parents lived there, her brothers still do. My father retired from Indian Railways in 1987, they settled in their house. My mother had lived there earlier with my younger brother when he was in high school. My father was in Assam. When my brother joined the medical course, my mother went to Assam to be with my father. I think that was the only time both were separated from each other for almost two years.  

In 2015 my father was in very poor health and my elder brother who lived in Hyderabad, insisted that they should live with him. My father passed away in 2016. My mother lives with my elder brother and with us. She came here in October last year.

Five years ago

Yesterday my brother, sister-in-law, their daughter, and grandson came home. We had a wonderful time with the baby. He was the centre of attraction and knew it 😊. He is eight months and came readily to all of us. My mother left with them for Hyderabad early today morning. They reached their house by 10.30. My mother did not have any problems on the way. She was little worried.

She forgets a lot and what surprised me was that the almost thirty years in their house in Puttur is a wiped slate for her. She just cannot remember those days. Their land is in two levels. There are cashew nut trees on the upper level. The only thing she remembers is walking down the steps to their house.

There is a small house adjacent to the main house. My parents rented it out. In 2009 Mamatha, Shyam and their two children came there. The children were in primary school. They were good company for my parents, who became grandparents for their children. Both children are well educated and employed. Mamatha and Shyam   are looking after the place since 2015. My mother feels comforted that there is someone there.

My mother with her great grandson

Comments

7 responses to “Day 18 of March SOLSC #SOL24 ”

  1. An enjoyable read.

    San

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed this look at your mother’s life. A house holds so many memories. We may not always remember them, but occasionally something jogs our memory and things flow back in.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Another good insight to your mother’s life

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are blessed to still have your mother. 😊 I know from experience with Dave family, it’s hard having loved ones lose their memory. She is lucky to have such a wonderful bunch of kids to care for her together!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I very much enjoy learning of your mother’s earlier life and she always seems so alert in the photos you share.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your mother looks happy. I am glad to see that.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I enjoyed the juxtaposition of photos and writing in this piece and the trip through your mother’s past that your writing provides.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.