Letter from Germany -2 (Slice of Life )

slice-of-life_individual
( I am in Germany in my daughter’s place. Her daughter was born this month on the 10th. I write mails to my mother ( Amma) and my father’s elder brother’s wife, my Doddamma ( elder mother ). I also send photos. My Doddamma is 86 and is mostly in her room and her home. My cousin’s wife wrote to me that my Doddamma was very to read and see the photos of my grandchildren which I send through WhatsApp. She says she can now imagine what they are doing. My mother too enjoys them. WhatsApp is such a blessing in many ways. It helps us to stay connected with our near ones, if we want to 😊.)
Walldorf

                                                        28-11-17

Dear Doddamma and Amma,

We are all fine here. Kavya has almost completed three weeks. It seems just the other day when Gayatri went to the hospital for the delivery. Kavya sleeps and cries only when she is hungry. At night she wakes three or four times, feeds and goes back to sleep. Touchwood 😊

Here everyday the weather keeps changing. Some days it rains every day and other days it is sunny and bright. The 22nd was bright and sunny. Vinay said he would take me to Heidelberg to see the older part of the city. Heidelberg is about half an hour’s drive from Walldorf. The University of Heidelberg is the oldest in Europe, it was founded in 1386. There is a library also
founded in 1421. It is the oldest existing public library in Europe. Vinay picked Advaith from his kindergarten, I was ready at home and we went to Heidelberg. We went to the old town to walk on the Hauptstrasse. This is the main road and it is a cobbled road through the old town. Vehicles are not allowed.

IMG_20171122_194941-1

There are shops and eating places on both sides. There were so many people walking along. In Walldorf we hardly see any people. There are students and tourists.

IMG_20171122_202021

 Vinay bought ice-creams for us, he and Advaith took in a cup and I had a cone ice-cream. We walked along eating.

IMG_20171122_153025.jpg

On the way we saw a young man blowing huge soap bubbles. They looked very colourful, Advaith was running after them.

IMG_20171122_153205

IMG_20171122_153214

We walked along till we came to the bridge across the river Rhein-Neckar. It was a little before sunset and the river looked a beautiful golden.

IMG_20171122_203347
There was a barge coming along and Advaith enjoyed looking at it passing under the bridge and going along.

IMG_20171122_203715

IMG_20171122_203604

We stayed there for some time, by 4.30 the sun set and we went back to the parking place. The cars are parked at different levels, Advaith wanted the car to be parked really underground. While going back we have to take a ticket and when we are leaving the parking area Vinay inserted it in a machine and the barrier opened for us to go out.

IMG_20171122_210200

 Then we started back and reached home by 5.30. There was a lot of traffic, it was dark when we reached home.

IMG_20171122_213934

Gayatri and Kavya were waiting for us. It was a good outing.

With love,

Lakshmi

Letter from Germany -2 (Slice of Life )


Comments

8 responses to “Letter from Germany -2 (Slice of Life )”

  1. I love all the pictures in your blog post. It really adds to your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊

      Like

  2. tbreitweiser Avatar
    tbreitweiser

    My heritage is German and I loved this post! The pictures were wonderful. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊

      Like

  3. Wonderful sharing. Is there any possibility that your daughter and her family will return to India, or will you continue to have a great physical distance between you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They came here two years ago, they might stay here for some more years, last year my daughter and grandson had come to India for almost two months. Next year they will come in November, December.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That would be so nice for you.

        Like

  4. They came two years ago and will stay for some years. Last year my daughter and grandson had come for almost two months. They are planning to come to India every year.

    Like

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.