RonovanWrites #Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Prompt #Challenge #187 Shy&Blush

 

ronovan-writes-haiku-poertry-challenge-image-20161

“Exchanging garlands,
On his eighty first birthday,
Long years together,
But blushing like a new bride
She shyly garlanded him.”

DSC01408
(My parents were married in 1959. My father was 28 and my mother 18. After my father retired from Indian Railways they settled in a small town where my maternal grandparents lived too. We celebrated my father’s eighty first birthday in Bharath Sewa Ashram. On the death anniversary days of my father’s parents, my parents went to this ashram and the afternoon lunch to all living there was on their behalf. My father passed away in 2016. My mother lives with my elder brother. Unfortunately, she was diagnosed as having cancer in December and is undergoing treatment. She is responding well and in April the prescribed number of Chemotherapy will finish. She will come to our home and will be with us for some months. Life surprises us in different ways.

DSC01409

RonovanWrites #Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Prompt #Challenge #187 Shy&Blush


Comments

10 responses to “RonovanWrites #Weekly #Haiku #Poetry Prompt #Challenge #187 Shy&Blush”

  1. I hope your mother beats the big ‘C’. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely traditions. San

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations to them both

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hello. Touching post. I’m sorry about your father. My dad passed away last year and it was hard on me. I hope your mother makes a full recovery. All the best to you and your family. ❤

    Like

    1. Thank you Vashti.

      Like

  5. Touching.
    Best wishes for a speedy recovery for your mother.

    Like

  6. Get well soon, Mum!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sorry your dad passed but these are lovely loving photos of your parents. A person is lucky indeed if the person they are married to can make them smile after 50 years together.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. A tender poem responding to a very touching photo of your parents.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. It’s a lovely poem, all the best for her good health.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.