Letter from Home-32 (Slice of Life)

slice-of-life_individual

12-11-18
Dear Doddamma,
We all are having a wonderful time with Advaith and Kavya. Gayatri and children reached Mangalore airport at 5 Pm on the 8th. We went by taxi to the airport to receive them. It becomes dark by 6.30 and it is difficult to drive then. Kavya started crying when she saw us, she is not used to seeing so many new faces. Advaith was feeling a little shy. We reached home by 7.15. It was the last day of Deepawali and we had got some simple sparklers to light. But we were all feeling tired. Tulsi puja is on the 20th, we will light them on that evening.
On the 10th was Kavyaโ€™s first birthday. We had decided to go to Madhur Ganapati temple and from there to Maikuri, where my father-in-law lives. He was waiting to see her. We left at 7 in the morning, reached the temple at 9.30. My husband has been going to this temple from his childhood and it is a very special place for him. Now renovation of the temple is going on. The work may go on for a year.

From there we went to Maikuri. Mava was happy to see the children. He wanted to swing Kavya on his feet, he went and sat on the table. We were wondering what he was doing. Kavya refused to go to him. Advaith wanted to go to the areca and cocoa garden. Gayatri had told him that chocolate was made from cocoa. My husband and his brother took him and he was excited to see coconut trees, areca trees and black pepper creepers and banana trees.

All this was very new for him. In Germany all children of his kindergarten are taken to the forest every month to see the trees, birds and foot prints of animals.

IMG-20181110-WA0039

After some time Kavya took hold of her great grandfatherโ€™s fingers and was playing with them. My father-in-law was feeling happy. We left after lunch and returned home before dark.

We are having a very busy time with the children and enjoying every minute. Kuvara and Advaith water the plants every morning. Advaith planted a tulsi sapling in the โ€˜tulasi katteโ€™. In most of our homes we have a tulasi plant in front of the house. This letter is much shorter than my earlier letters. I am sending this with my cousin and his wife ( my doddammaโ€™s son) who have come this side from Mumbai to attend a wedding.
With lots of love,
Lakshmi

Tulasi Puja on Uthwana Dwadashi in Karnataka – HinduPad
https://hindupad.com/tulasi-habba-tulasi-puja-on-uthwana-dwadashi…

Tulasi Pooje โ€“ Tulasi Katte | Namma Bhoomi
http://www.nammabhoomi.com โ€บ All

Pooje to be done in the evening. Whatโ€™s Tulasi? In most Hindu homes, you find a Tulasi plant growing out of a Tulasi katte . Tulasi is considered to be a holy plant and is worshiped every morning.

[โ€˜Slice of Lifeโ€™ has reaffirmed my belief that everyday moments are precious moments. They make us what we are. I have been posting my letters to my fatherโ€™s elder brotherโ€™s wife, I call her Doddamma. It literally means elder mother. I mailed my letters to my cousinโ€™s wife. She used to read it to her. One day she told me that doddamma enjoyed hand-written letters. She reads and re-reads them. So, I have once again started writing letters on paper and posting them to her. I edit and share what I have written to her in โ€˜Slice of lifeโ€™. I like reading the different slices of life. We live in different places of the world but there is a sameness in our everyday lives. It is fascinating and that sameness connects us.โ€™]

Letter from Home-32 (Slice of Life)


Comments

4 responses to “Letter from Home-32 (Slice of Life)”

  1. No wonder this is a short letter! You will be spending quality time with grand-children and loved ones. Family life has no equal.
    SAN

    Like

    1. Yes San ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Like

  2. This short letter says a lot about the happy times you are having with your grand children ma’am ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Enjoy..

    Like

  3. It is so wonderful how you are writing letters. Beautiful connections. Forever keepsakes.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.