Everyday Moments – ( #SOL 2019)

 

slice-of-life_individual

9-07-19

20190709_130227
Today it has been raining since morning. It seems as if our monsoon season has started. We are keeping our fingers crossed. It is now four in the evening. It is cloudy, dark and raining. Yesterday it had rained only in the morning. 6th and 7th were such dry and sunny days. We were feeling so terrible. It should have been raining but we are having such sunny days. Lack of rains is worrying everyone but we all say we can do nothing about it now. We have to just wait and hope. On the 7th evening we went for a walk to the lake in our place. Every year by July the lake is almost full. During the monsoon season water flows into the lake from all sides. But this time we can still see the lake bed!!  We just hope it will become full before the monsoon season ends. It is very worrying.

20190707_173837
On the 4th our son went to Hyderabad for four days. He had some work in the university where he studied. We went to the airport. The ground staff will assist him while going and returning. We came back home by 1.45. His friend came to receive him at the airport and he is staying in a hotel not far from his university. That evening we went to our temple park for a walk. We had not been there for a long time.

Last week I was able to go to Asare three times a week. My husband and I leave home together. He goes to the medical library to read the latest dental journals. He was professor in the Dental college of our University. He retired in January 2017. We return together.

We had read about a Sanskrit daily newspaper. We have subscribed for it. I studied Sanskrit in school. I am happy that I can understand a lot of what I am reading. And we have got a very good Sanskrit Dictionary by Monier Williams. My father had gifted it to us. I read in the morning at about 11o’clock once I finish my work.

20190708_122408
There are a lot of jackfruits in our tree. On Saturday we took three to my husband’s cousin. He and his wife use raw and ripe jackfruit in different ways. I crushed the ripe arils, added sugar and cooked. It is tasty with dosas and we make a tasty dessert with it called payasa. These days jackfruit ice creams have become very popular. I liked it 😊 .

Our son returned yesterday afternoon. He came in a prepaid taxi from the airport. In the evening we did not go for a walk. My friend and neighbour was taking a brisk walk in her front yard. She and her husband go for walk every evening. But he had to visit a relative. I joined her and enjoyed the walking with the talking.
Days are going on. I remember the water scarcity in April and May. The days passed and these days will pass too. That is life.

img_20190401_174308

“Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift of God, which is why we call it the present.”
― Bill Keane

Sudharmasanskritdaily Sanskrit Daily Newspaper
sudharmasanskritdaily.in

Monier Monier-Williams – Wikipedia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monier_Monier-Williams

jackfruit payasam recipe | chakka payasam recipe | palapazham …

Jackfruit Payasam | Chakka Payasam

 


Comments

9 responses to “Everyday Moments – ( #SOL 2019)”

  1. Wishing you continued nourishment provided by more rain, the power of literacy, and delicious food. Thanks for the glimpses you wrote about this day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Brian.

      Like

  2. I’m hopeful your monsoon season has started too! I grew up in a desert and the need for water is something that came up all the time. We were forever monitoring the water levels in the nearby reservoir. It’s lovely that you are recording all of this and writing to your auntie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jackfruit ice-cream seems enticing. San

    Like

  4. Hoping the rains continue and fill up the lake. As you say, we have no control over the weather. We must deal with whatever we get. Jackfruit ice cream sounds interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope that the lake fills before the monsoon season ends. It must be very disconcerting to see the lake bed instead of water.

    Like

  6. Work and life have been so busy it is wonderful to be able to finally catch up on your doings. I hope your weather is getting better and the lake is full. The weather is worrisome for so many these days – too much in one place, not enough in others.

    I am really impressed by your reading a Sanskrit newspaper. That’s amazing – and especially that you can understand it. I’m still struggling with Hindi. But the more I dedicate myself to it the “stickier” words get and they’re less likely to fall out of my head.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I cannot understand each word Todd but I can understand the sentence as a whole. I studied Sanskrit from class 5 to 12.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah yes – I can do that sometimes, and once in a while even learn new words that way.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.