#SoCS Nov. 30/19

socs-badge-2019-2020
Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “shade.” Use it any way you’d like. Enjoy!

The first thought that came to mind when I read the prompt was, ‘nothing is black and white but different shades of grey’. I have read this so many times in so many contexts and in so many books. Life would be very boring if there were no shades of grey. Other than these shades of grey there are so many sides to people or to things. It all depends on what we look at.

I listen to the lectures on our epics and puranas and Vedas by Bannanje Govindacharya on YouTube. He is a Sanskrit scholar. I am listening to Vishnu Purana. It is said in it that nothing is good or bad, it depends on us, what we see in it and what we take from it. He gave the example of bitter gourd. Some may like and some may not. But the bitter gourd is the bitter gourd. It does not change its character because it is liked or not liked. The lectures are in my language, Kannada and it is difficult to express the thoughts in English😊. I remembered this lecture because it reminded me of those different shades of grey.

Green is my favourite colour. The trees and plants fill me with delight. There are so many different shades of green. It is fascinating. What would life be without greenery? It is difficult to imagine. Years ago I read a science fiction short story in which there are no trees on Earth. The way trees are being cut in the name of development makes me believe that we are going in that direction. It will be tragic if we reach the destination.
This reminds me of the story of the Giving Tree.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Giving_Tree
(The Giving Tree is an American children’s picture book written and illustrated by Shel Silverstein. First published in 1964 by Harper & Row, it has become one of Silverstein’s best-known titles, and has been translated into numerous languages.)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bannanje_Govindacharya
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vishnu_Purana


Comments

4 responses to “#SoCS Nov. 30/19”

  1. Oh! I’ve heard/read about the bitter gourd in that way before. it’s a very interesting thought – thank you for reminding me of it again.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also enjoy the various greens that the same tree can have over a season. Robert Frost even writes “Nature’s first green is gold,” since the earliest green leaves here are yellow first.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t imagine what it would be like if there were no trees. A horrendous thought!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice thought!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.