Everyday Moments ( #SOL- 2019)

slice-of-life_individual

My weekly Slice of Life are my letters to my Doddamma. She is my father’s elder brother’s wife. Doddamma literally means ‘elder mother’. She is 88 years old. She cannot hear properly if I telephone to talk to her. So, I have been writing letters to her since October 2017. I enjoy writing letters and she is happy to read them. They are only about the everyday moments in my life. I post my letters to her every week.

3-12-10
We are experiencing very cloudy days since the 1st morning. It has also been raining, not heavily but it is raining. Last year there had been no rains after September till July. The weather has been very strange this year. Sunday evening we wanted to go to the beach but it was raining. The Arabian sea is about 10kms from home. We did not go there during the monsoon season. I have always liked to look at the waves and the different moods of the sea.

20191201_172955

My husband went to our village today morning to spend a day with his father. He goes by bus and it takes almost three hours. We go by car when all of us are going together. My father-in-law used to share his memories of those long ago days. Life moved at a very slow pace then and there were very few changes. Then, society and community were more important than individuals. People had to conform to the norms of the society. I have just completed a fascinating book called The Other Face by Na Mogasale in Kannada. I read the English translation. This is the story of the people of our community, Havyaka Brahmins, and covers about 150 years. It tells us so much about the social, religious and political conditions of those times. I could relate so much to the story because I was reminded  of all that my father-in-law had told me.

Yesterday afternoon, I went to Asare. Today is World Disability day and there is a whole day programme in our town today. Six members were practising a dance for today. They enjoy dancing.

Many a time I feel life goes on in parallel levels every day. Here I am writing and somewhere else something else is happening. These thoughts came to mind because a few nights ago a young veterinary doctor was raped by four men and killed and burnt in the neighbouring state. It is really tragic. I kept thinking that I was enjoying a book where elsewhere a girl was being tortured. I know there is nothing we can do about it. But it hurts. I did not write this to my doddamma, she would have read it in the paper. A friend was telling me that rapists should be punished in such a way that they should beg for death to release them. All this is wishful thinking.

I feel that life is very kind to us. Of course, there are problems but they are nothing compared to the problems faced by so many. There is so much suffering in their lives. These thoughts come to mind during our evening walks. Watching the birds or the clouds and the trees and the sun setting calms the mind and the heart.

20191128_174951

“Every sunset brings the promise of a new dawn”
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Havyaka_Brahmin

https://www.thehindu.com/features/friday-review/saga-of-a-community-and-nation/article7329481.ece

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arabian_Sea


Comments

9 responses to “Everyday Moments ( #SOL- 2019)”

  1. Thanks for sharing. I read about the proliferation of rapes, and am stunned. Are there in fact more rapes, or is it that news broadcast has become more efficient? SAN

    Like

    1. I don’t know San. It is horrible. We are reading of small children being raped and killed.

      Like

  2. I sometimes wonder what our world is coming to. Students taking guns to schools, the rise in the crime rate. When have we become a society that doesn’t value life?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It is so easy to be complacent in our own little safe bubbles of life, forgetting all of the evil and horror that seems to be rife in all societies nowadays. I tend to agree with your friend. I certainly think that we should ensure that a rapist could never, ever, do such a thing again. But then I wonder what that makes me, in wishing harm on another, even one so horrible?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a horrible story, cut down before her career of helping animals. I read a long article about the ongoing problems in India around water. It sounds as though there will continue to be real changes in the monsoon seasons.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. read about the young doctor being raped and murdered Just.27, her whole life was in front of her and these rapists took it away. Then read yesterday about the rape victim who was set ablaze while going to the court to attend her own rape trial. What’s happening to the country? I know people will say an eye for an eye will turn the whole world blind but sometimes I think that the deterrence should be so public that others will think twice before committing such heinous crimes. Nirbhaya case criminals are languishing in jail out of public eye and conscience and similar cases are being committed every year.

    Like

    1. Yes it is terrible. Just now we read about the four rapists being shot dead in a police encounter. Many are saying it is not the solution. But I am feeling glad they were killed. Otherwise they will be in the jail for years.

      Like

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.