Everyday Moments- #SOL 2020

slice-of-life_individual
My weekly Slice of Life are my letters to my Doddamma. She is my father’s elder brother’s wife. Doddamma literally means ‘elder mother’. She is 88 years old. She cannot hear properly if I telephone to talk to her. So, I have been writing letters to her since October 2017. I enjoy writing letters and she is happy to read them. They are only about the everyday moments in my life. I post my letters to her every week.

10-03-2020
On the 7th I talked with my Doddamma. She cannot hear properly. She said she was very happy to read my letters. I felt very nice when she said that. She is my favourite relative.
This week, on the 4th ,I went to the hospital. I was having an uncomfortable sensation in my right ear. Fortunately, it was a minor problem. Waiting for my turn I read The Indian Empire at War  by George Morton Jack. A fascinating book.  On the 6th I had to go for a dental check-up. Fortunately, minor problems. Hospital is a different world and we always hope that we never have to go there.

On the 26th morning a friend and our book club member passed away. She had been suffering from cancer and was in lot of pain. On the 18th I had gone to see her. In spite of the pain we talked about books. Earlier she wished to read some Enid Blytons. I had taken them for her. She donated her body to our Medical college. She had told us her father had done the same. On the 5th her husband and close friends had organised a wonderful evening celebrating her life. So many spoke about her. She was just 61, certainly not an age to die.

20200308_082241About two weeks ago bulbuls were trying their best to build their nests inside the house. I kept the windows closed for some days. Now they are not coming, hopefully they have found a better place to build their nests.

20200306_120653

On the 7th we sold our coconuts at the shop in our town. We got Rs 35 per kilogram. This has been the best rate that we have got for a long time. We have ten coconut trees in our garden. We sold a little more than 80 kgs. It is ok for us because we do not depend on it for our living. But for all those farmers life becomes difficult when they do not get good returns for all their hard work.  Tender coconut water is very tasty and the soft white fruit is tastier. We sometimes buy them on our way back home. The water and the fruit are very refreshing.

20200308_171550

On the 8th we went to our village to spend time with my father-in-law. I don’t know whether he recognised us. My father-in-law was listening to classical music in YouTube. I was sitting near him after finishing the cooking . He has cataract and cannot see. At his age he cannot be operated. A few years ago he had been operated in one eye but it did not really help him. He was such an active person, I was feeling very sad looking at the changes that age brings. God knows what is in store for us. All around us changes are happening. Anyway, we have to face what comes our way.

20200308_095648

Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them – that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.
Lao Tzu


Comments

6 responses to “Everyday Moments- #SOL 2020”

  1. Denise Krebs Avatar
    Denise Krebs

    Lakshmi, what a beautiful blog telling about life in your beautiful place. I’m sure your ದೊಡ್ಡಮ್ಮ loves getting your sweet reflections. Many blessings to you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Denise for your kind words. Do you know Kannada, my language?

      Like

      1. Denise Krebs Avatar
        Denise Krebs

        Thank you, Lakshmi. I should have explained. I live in Bahrain, and it is such a small country with expats from more than 120 countries; it is a cultural treasure-trove. My best friend is from Bangalore, so I recognized the name, but I had to look up the spelling because I don’t know your language. We have learned so much about the states and languages of India while living here. I have yet to visit your country, though!

        Like

  2. I also loved the soft refreshing coconut after one has drunk the water. Thanks for a beautiful narration. SAN

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My mother in law likewise left her body to the medical school. Your friend was generous too in that way.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. We lost a friend a few weeks ago. It is wonderful that you write letters. They can be kept and cherished for years.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.