Day 2 of the March SOLSC # SOL 21

One of our kitchen windows faces east. The gas stove is on the ledge below the window. There are ten coconut trees in our compound.  They were planted in the seventies by the previous owner. We came here in 2005. We are eating the fruits of their labour. One coconut tree is just outside  the window. Beyond that are the branches of the mango tree. The sun rays stream in while I am cooking. They give a different light to whatever is cooking. Many a time I have taken photos of this play of sun rays.

Bulbuls and babblers add sound to the scene. Babblers are always busy chattering while going about their morning activities. Sunbirds dip their beaks into flowers, there are karavira ( yellow oleander) and hibiscus plants just outside. I love watching squirrels run up and down the trunk of the coconut tree.

A few days ago a family of monkeys were walking on the compound wall. They love the tender leaves of the papaya tree and buds of the hibiscus plants.   My husband looked ruefully at the broken branches. A few weeks earlier,  a baby monkey had been separated from the family, it was searching for them. Hopefully it was able to get back to its family. We are destroying forests, and animals have to survive.

One morning,  I was looking at the tree outside and I saw something on it, of the same colour.  I looked intently and it was a chameleon.  It looked a part of the trunk. It remained so still that there was time for me to get my mobile 😊.
Life, in its different forms is fascinating and I get to see them from my kitchen window. 😊


Comments

18 responses to “Day 2 of the March SOLSC # SOL 21”

  1. San cassimally Avatar
    San cassimally

    A brilliantly written account of your surroundings. I could almost feel like I was there in your kitchen. SAN

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Book Dragon Avatar
    Book Dragon

    Mindfully seeing opens us to the wonder of nature. Thank you for your beautiful slice – I joined you in your kitchen seeing through your eyes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enlarged the picture of the chameleon, and he has a tail almost twice as long as his body.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. A lovely description – how generous of your predecessors

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for this slice of life outside your window. There is so much life there and I enjoyed experiencing it. I loved the picture of the sun streaming in your kitchen. I could feel the warmth.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wonderful description but now I miss my garden. Were you making dosa 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Brian Rozinsky Avatar
    Brian Rozinsky

    This slice delightfully took me to a far-away place, and the coconut trees reminded me of words from author Nelson Henderson: “The true meaning of life is to plant trees, under whose shade you do not expect to sit.”

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I smiled at your description of the family of monkeys. Something we do not see in Hawaii except in the zoo.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I can’t imagine looking out my window and seeing monkeys walking around. There is nothing as welcoming as a sun filled kitchen especially when delicious scents fill the air.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I loved this! Every time you mentioned a fruit, I could imagine the juice and sweetness of it! And just your entire description was just beautiful! Great writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. haitiruth Avatar
    haitiruth

    I love this view from your kitchen window!
    Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I loved getting a peek at your stove. It would be fun to get a look into many bloggers’ kitchens and see the many different ways we all prepare food for our families. Is that a large griddle?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes Elizabeth, it is a cast iron one to make doses. Many use non stick pans but I like this.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I use several cast iron pans, all from my grandmother’s kitchen, so at least 100 years old and still going strong.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. I love the description you added to this piece. You made me feel like I was looking out your window- awesome perspective! Thanks for slicing!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Lovely descriptions of the view from your kitchen, the sound of birds and the play of sunlight! After many years in India, some of them in the south, I can clearly picture everything you mention!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I cannot imagine a kitchen without a window! I love discovering things outside and have interrupted my cooking on more than one occasion to grab my camera. But wow, monkeys and mangos? That sounds fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.