Day 10 of the March SOLSC! #SOL21

At the hospital

On the 8th, after lunch, my husband and I went to the the branch of our hospital in another part of our town. Covid vaccinations were being giving there. People above sixty are eligible  now. If people have any health problems, they have to give a medical certificate to the effect. We were directed to the fourth floor. There were many people waiting . My husband was given a slip with the number. We waited and it was no surprise to see most people absorbed in their mobile phones. 😊

I got talking to the elderly lady seated next to me. She had come with her brothers-in-law and their wives. We started talking about how a virus has changed our lives. We never thought we would have to go about wearing masks. And we have become used to talking with masks on. We have now learnt to smile with our eyes. Earlier smiling involved the whole face ☺. It is the same now too but the mask hides much of our faces.

There are newspaper and other printing presses in our place. She said many above the age of fifty were asked to quit. It was difficult for them to get new jobs. Many had taken loans with the assurance they would pay back the money before retiring. Others had rented out houses and were getting a steady income. But so many vacated and went back to their home towns. This has happened in cities to. Many have vacated their apartments.  A young friend told me a packing company stored furniture and other things in their godowns for a minimal payment. He and his family live with his parents now in their hometown. His furniture will be in the godown till he has to look for an apartment and start going to office. Who could have imagined such changes would happen?

We had reached the hospital at 2.30. Some details were needed for registration.  My husband and others sat in a different room. I was sitting  outside, reading a book and also slices of life 😊.   It was 4.45 when he got the vaccination.   After getting the vaccination people have sit in another room for half an hour. They are observed by the nurses in charge, for possible reactions. My husband said the nurse was very good and he did not experience any discomfort. We left at 5.15 and were back home by 5.30.

It seemed a long day.


Comments

21 responses to “Day 10 of the March SOLSC! #SOL21”

  1. Such changes, indeed

    Liked by 1 person

  2. san cassimally Avatar
    san cassimally

    I would like you to teach me to recognise a smile just from the eyes. It was a question I asked myself when I smiled at someone in the streets with my face cover on: Is that person aware I am smiling at him/ her? Regards.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just noticed that people are responding when we smile. Earlier people just did not. I think something in our eyes tells the others that we smiling and greeting them.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. The eyes change. They crinkle. Maybe even sparkle. The eyes meet yours. The mask moves, too. You really can “see” a smile through the mask.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, that is exactly what I feel.

        Like

  3. You captured the changes both good and bad, but ended the best way with the good! Congrats on your vaccination.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. One thing interesting to me as I read various slices about the pandemic and the path to getting vaccinations, is how different it is everywhere, yet we all have the same underlying similarities – there’s always a “oh my goodness me too!” going through my head as I read. It’s like reading a text set on a topic or theme with my students. And yay for your husband getting the vaccine. Here’s to hope and brighter days ahead where we can again smile with our whole faces seen.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lgrainger125 Avatar
    lgrainger125

    I’m glad to hear you husband has his vaccination. I am learning to read eyes as well. I appreciate remote Wednesdays when I can see the children’s whole face. Hoping each day is a step closer to beating the virus worldwide.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I too have noticed that we have adapted to make our eyes more expressive, or, perhaps, it is just that we have learned to read eye movements better. I do miss seeing a “proper” smile and giving and receiving hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This globally shared experience has indeed changed us all. Here’s hoping we can smile with our whole faces again soon! Thanks for your post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This post was a reminder of how we are all connected across the globe. Many of the changes you described sounded so similar to what we are experiencing here in the States.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Even though we drove two hours to get our first shot and need to drive the two hours again for our sencon, there was such a sense of relief after getting at least one shot. It kind of felt like things might get back to being a bit more normal.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. An interesting look into your life! And congrats to being vaccinated! Here we are very slow, and no vaccine in sight. I think those over 85 have got theirs so far.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my husband has got his, those above sixty. I have yet to get mine.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Our medical group invited us to get our vaccinations which we did last week. The first one. The second will be at the same drive-thru clinic on the hospital grounds in four weeks. All very well done. We only have to wait 15 minutes to make sure there is no reaction. I noticed that they had a defibulator, oxygen, and gurney under a tent in case anyone needed help. Terry and I hardly noticed the injection site. Sure hope the second one goes as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I am surprised that they didn’t let you get your shot when he did. It seems tedious to have to go through that two times. Here there is also much emptying out of apartments and houses and doubling up of families. It is hard to foresee how the future will be about where people work and live.

    Like

    1. I am 59 Elizabeth, now they are giving to people above 60. Only those people below 60 having health problems are being given now.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Here it is 55 and up right now. I can understand why they didn’t vaccinate you at the same time if that is your protocol.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Worst thing about masks is missing a simple smile. I have learning to smile with my eyes. How wonderful to toss aside the phone and actually visit with someone! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. The waiting does make it feel long. After my first shot I had to wait as well and it felt like forever. I just wanted to leave. I get my second shot on Saturday. I’m so glad you were able to wait and he got his shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Brian Rozinsky Avatar
    Brian Rozinsky

    Long day, but worth it, sounds like. Onwards!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.