Day 12 of the March SOLSC! #SOL21

A few days ago, I  was in the kitchen. It was 9.45 and I saw a family of monkeys go by on the compound  wall. We are seeing them more often now. There are pockets of forests nearby.  I think they live there and come  in search of food.

In a neighbour’s house they have tasted a lot of mangoes and cashew fruits. She sees them strewn under the trees. In another neighbour’s garden there are jackfruit trees. They bear fruits during this time, not all trees do that. In our tree we will get the fruits only in June. Ripe jackfruits have a very strong smell, monkeys are attracted to it. She said she finds half eaten fruits on the ground.
The same day at about 2.30 we saw them returning from wherever they had been to. One was enjoying a mango, another a papaya and some had star-apples in their hands.
We have deprived them of their home, and it is but natural that they should take what we believe to be ours.

There are a lot of stray dogs here, long back they were taken away and put to sleep. But now one cannot do that. Recently we have been hearing about rabid dogs around our place. A few days ago a child was bitten and died before anything  could be done. I don’t know what happened to the dog. One of our neighbors tie their cow in their areca garden during day time. In the evening they bring her to the cowshed.  A few days ago they saw many bites and gashes on her. The vet came and gave her an injection, she was pregnant too. Unfortunately she was bitten by a rabid dog and was infected.  She died yesterday.  No one knows where the dog is, all are careful but one can never say what may happen.

Two nights ago I woke up suddenly just after midnight, on hearing a groaning and creaking sound outside. I looked out of the window and thought I was seeing a huge creature. It was a JCB! Digging has started today and mud is being transported to some place. This will go on for a long time. We have to do something.

For most of history, man has had to fight nature to survive; in this century he is beginning to realize that, in order to survive, he must protect it. —Jacques-Yves Cousteau

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jacques_Cousteau


Comments

13 responses to “Day 12 of the March SOLSC! #SOL21”

  1. cassimally Avatar
    cassimally

    Greetings. San

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like progress is not quite as wonderful as it should be! I feel so sorry for those monkeys. They can’t understand what is going on.

    Like

  3. I guess the monkeys can’t penetrate your coconut shells. I hope that dog is found soon.

    Like

  4. I cannot even begin to express my sorrow about the plight of animals whose homes are destroyed in the name of progress and then they are the ones who suffer when we are the ones who have upset their habitats. The fear that exists with rabid dogs and hungry monkeys and tethered cows is nightmarish indeed. I’m so sorry.

    Like

  5. You’ve captured such fear in this post. We humans have done such damage and eventually pay for it. I too send thoughts your way and hope that the dog is soon captured

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I feed the squirrels and birds, and occasionally an opossum or raccoon makes its way through our yard and gobbles up the cat food and washes its paws in the water bowl. I’m quite happy to feed the wildlife and would be happy to feed the monkeys, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Every time I see trees being cut down and ground being cleared for some kind of construction I feel sorry for the animals that made their home there. Where will they now go? I can’t imagine looking out my window and seeing monkeys. We get the squirrels.

    Like

  8. I feel your sadness, worry, and fear. I hope all the people and animals will be safe.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Brian Rozinsky Avatar
    Brian Rozinsky

    From context, I’ve got an idea what JCB means, yet I’d still love to hear more about precisely what the abbreviation means where you are…

    Like

    1. JCB is a company making earthmovers. There are many such companies now, but all earthmovers are called JCBs.
      https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/JCB_(company)

      Like

  10. How dreadful that they have decided to work at night also. I don’t understand why stray dogs cannot be killed if they are spreading rabies.

    Like

  11. I am sorry to hear about the rabies outbreak. Hopefully there will someday be a program to vaccinate all dogs, and cats, regardless of whether they are owned or not.

    Like

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.