Day 19 of the March SOLSC! #SOL21

Yesterday morning the three of us left for our village at 7.30 to attend a religious function in our village.

Day 18 of the March SOLSC! #SOL21

Aravind and I were going there after a year. This was an experience of a life time because my family has been going there  regularly, to be with my father-in-law since we got married in 1982. And to not go there for a year felt very strange.
I was wondering if there would be any changes.  But the only change was seeing people wearing masks.

Near the main bus station in our town there was a gathering of migrant workers, both men and women. They were daily wage workers waiting to go to wherever they would get work. It is a sad fact of life that for them not just Covid but any health problem is a disaster.

We were traveling on the highway.  It is an unfortunate truth that many of my country people lack civic sense. It hurts to see garbage strewn around in some places. This will only change when people of each area see to it that their place is clean.

We stopped at our favourite restaurant on the way for breakfast.  The food was as tasty as ever.The waiters were  masked. They smiled in recognition as we always breakfast there on our way to our village. We too always wear masks when we go out.

Our village is 112 kms away. On the way we cross river Nethravati. It one of the main rivers in our part of the country.  Unfortunately, in recent years we were reading in the papers about people jumping off the bridge and dying by suicide. Something seemed different as we approached the bridge. Barbed wire fences were erected on both walls of the bridge with the sharp wires turning inwards.

We reached our home by 10.15. My brother-in-law was ready and we all went to the house where the function was happening. It is a little away from the main road. It was an experience of a life time. I will write about it in another post.
We left at four and reached home at seven. On the way we refreshed ourselves with tender coconut water and the soft fruit inside. This is very tender and is not used in cooking.

We were a little delayed because we were talking and missed the turning on the highway towards our town. We took another road and found a lot of repair work going on and there were many diversions which confused us.
A long day but we were happy to have attended the function.


Comments

17 responses to “Day 19 of the March SOLSC! #SOL21”

  1. Thank you for sharing this slice of your day! I appreciate the details you chose to include: the new fences on the bridge, having a refreshing coconut on the way home, the pictures you chose to include.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s interesting to hear about life in a different country than the one I live in. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dianeandlynne Avatar
    dianeandlynne

    So glad you were able to go home for the function. I liked hearing about the changes you observed on your travels and am looking forward to hearing more about the celebration.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi beautiful

      Like

  4. You have such a gift for detailed descriptions. We are a world away from one another, both in locale and stages of life, but I don’t feel any of that when I read your slices like these. I feel like I know you and you’re just catching me up since we last saw each other. With your photos imbedded it’s like you anticipate the questions I have without me having to interject OR WONDER! That is a gift. Knowing your audience and treating them as welcomed guests in your life. There’s a lot to comment on this particular travel but it’s your storytelling that blew me away. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. san cassimally Avatar
    san cassimally

    Thanks for his engaging slice of your life.

    Like

  6. Glad you were able to make the trip. I always find it interesting when traveling to a place I haven’t been to in a while to notice changes along the way. Sometimes something just strikes you as being different and you need to thing about what it is. Other times the change is so slatant that you can’t help but notice it.

    Like

  7. As I read I felt I was along for the ride. I look forward to reading about the event you attended.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for sharing! I loved seeing the inside of the coconut! As much as I use coconut oil, shreds, and other products, I’d never seen one sliced open before!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I am craving that coconut – it looks so very delicious! So glad you got to make this meaningful journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Brian Rozinsky Avatar
    Brian Rozinsky

    You pack so much life into this slice! Thanks for taking me on the journey through your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m glad I was able to take this journey with you. A year is a long time to let pass without seeing a place we regularly visit. You describe the changes you noticed thoughtfully. The many details about the local context (migrant workers, suicides from the bridge, the litter) express your particular care about your surroundings and what is needed.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. How very, very sad about the poor people using the bridge in that way. Every life is precious and well done to the railway for trying to do their bit to help.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. We have that litter problem soon.

    Like

  14. I’m glad the service was enjoyable. Beautiful pictures you took on your trip as well. Beleive it or not, I’ve never had the pleasure of actual real coconut water. I’m sure it would be much healthier for me than the processed stuff we consume here in the states.
    Best wishes,

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.