Everyday Moments(#SOL-2021)

7-09-2021

It seems just the other day that I posted my slice of life. Time flies and whenever I think that, I remember my cousin saying there are people who say they do not know what to do with time. It passes so slowly. I am glad that is not the case with me 😊.

Today was a rainy day, it has been raining for quite some days, either drizzling or pouring. It had been very sunny earlier and we thought there would be no more rains. We need the rains. Yesterday it was very cloudy in the evening but it was not raining, my mother and I went for a walk. We are so used to going for a walk and when it is raining we walk in the verandah. Today evening we went to the lake in our town. The water level has increased again. It is a pleasure to see so much water and also the birds in the two small islands. It is covered with trees, some birds sit on the top branches others must be having their nests. It is such a safe place.

Football ground on the way to Endpoint

A few evenings ago, we went to Endpoint. It felt good to see students playing football in one of the grounds. Ours is a university town and the place seemed so deserted without students. Primary and high schools have opened. Radhika’s daughter is so happy to be back in school. I think most children will be happy to be back in school.

On the 5th evening we met for our monthly tea time chat on Google meets. Todd started this and we enjoy talking to each other from different parts of the world. Rupali, Karen, Katherine, Anupriya, Aravind, Todd and myself had a good meeting 😊. Who would have thought  we would meet like this ? Todd, Rupali and myself are WordPress bloggers😊.

A few days ago, we were thinking, just like Rip Van Winkle, if a person were to wake up after two years, instead of twenty years, he/she would be very surprised to see how life of human beings has changed! Fortunately birds around us are living as they were living before.

Among trees and bushes

The chattering of birds

Different tones and pitches

Talking about the day

The chattering of birds

At evening time

Talking about the day.

Goes on without pause

Blooming yellow flowers

Intertwined branches

A good place to rest

For the chattering birds.

Intertwined branches

Safe and secure place

For the chattering birds

Among trees and bushes.

(The pantoum is a poem of any length, composed of four-line stanzas in which the second and fourth lines of each stanza serve as the first and third lines of the next stanza. The last line of a pantoum is often the same as the first.)


Comments

9 responses to “Everyday Moments(#SOL-2021)”

  1. What a cool piece of writing! You shared the benefits and need for rain, took me on a walk through nature, lead me to a Google meet, and then concluded it all with a poem. I appreciated the contrast between the italicized and regular text.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. san cassimally Avatar
    san cassimally

    Nice photograph of kids playing football near Endpoint.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You always capture the importance of the small details in life in your writing. It reminds me to pay better attention!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A lovely pantoum again Lakshmi.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bored? Us? Never! Cheers, Muriel

    Liked by 1 person

  6. “birds around us are living as they were living before” . How right! Indeed, here in England, birds and animals seem to be doing a lot better than normally, because the world is a lot quieter place than its normal noisy self.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Time passes slowly? No way, at least not for me. I don’t know where the time goes, but I wouldn’t want it any other way. I enjoy being busy. Somehow the normal behavior of the birds seems to ground me. With the way thigs are in the world I think I need that grounding.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Such a cheering pantoum

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Denise Krebs Avatar
    Denise Krebs

    Another lovely pantoum. It’s a joy seeing the treasures of your life. I like to see all the greenery and the football players on the pitch. In the desert, I often see similar pictures of football players–cricketers too–but the scenery is only the light tan of dusty sand in an empty field.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.