Everyday Moments (#SOL-2021)

14-09-2021

The idol of Lord Ganapati in Himalayan peaks
Venugopala temple, on the right Lord Ganapti being worshipped

Ganesha Chaturthi was celebrated on the 10th across the length and breadth of our country. Most people worship Lord Ganapati before starting any new work. Some keep the idol of Lord Ganesha at home and offer prayers. In different localities people of that area gather to keep an idol offer prayers. On the 10th evening we went two places where idols of lord Ganapati are kept. In the morning we made ‘modaka’, a sweet believed to be the God’s favourite. I was making it for the first time, it came out well. I also made banana payasa.

Our prayer room, offering banana payasa and modaka

On the 11th I got my second dose of vaccination, Aravind his first. Fortunately, we did not get fever or any other side effect.

We are still getting heavy rains. It is sunny, clouds gather and there is heavy rain. Yesterday evening we started out to Endpoint. After walking for just ten minutes we saw very dark clouds in the horizon. They were moving towards us. We walked back and it started raining just as we got into the car. Many students were walking on, without umbrellas 😊. It was pouring cats and dogs on our way back. We reached home within ten minutes and the rain stopped. There is no shelter on the way to Endpoint. It was good that we turned back.

On the 12th and 13th we hired Udaya to clean the garden. He is a very good worker. Due to the rains, there was grass everywhere. We got some hibiscus plants trimmed too. He cut some branches of the star apple tree. There are a lot red ants. When they bite there is an acidic smell but they die when they bite. Udaya managed well.

Today evening we went to a handloom exhibition. There were a lot of things likes, saris, shirts bags and dress materials. Aravind bought a bag for his grandmother😊. Today was a cloudy day with no rains.

Modak Recipe | Ukadiche modak (With Mould and Without Mould)

Modak Recipe | Ukadiche modak (With & Without Mould)

Nendram pazham pradhaman recipe-Banana payasam recipe – …https://www.sharmispassions.com/nendram-pazham-pradhaman-recipe


Comments

12 responses to “Everyday Moments (#SOL-2021)”

  1. Glad to hear you did not have any side effects from your shot. You really were lucky not to get rained on. Your post reminds me that I need to go out and do some outside work.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I am pleased you got your jabs with no after effects

    Liked by 2 people

  3. The title of your post is perfect. Yet as I, the reader, read these moments, they feel much more because I am a bit in awe of how your life is in many ways different and in manny ways the same. Thanks for sharing your story today and allowing me to “visit” your part of the globe.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Lainie Levin Avatar
    Lainie Levin

    Thank you for sharing this post, and sharing the traditions of this holiday. I clicked on the Modak recipe, and I think I’ll have to give it a try. I’d probably have to start with the unmolded variety, but I’m excited to cook something new – especially when I now know the story behind it!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I too made without mould. Came out well. My friend told me she adds a little wheat flour or all purpose flour. It gives more elasticity to the dough.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I wonder why we rain cats and dogs. That is such a strange expression, and not very nice for either the cats or the dogs!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, I too think about the origin of that phrase.

      Like

  6. Congratulations on getting your second vaccines! Good for you. Enjoyed this post. I learned something new and interesting. Thanks, Muriel

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Did you take any photos at the handweave exhibit? I would love to see the fabrics that were there.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. No Elizabeth, I could not. The handloom saris are good but they are too heavy for my mother. The dress materials are good but mostly light colours.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hadn’t realized that the handloom material would be heavier, but that makes sense.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I learned a lot about Ganesha Chaturthi from this post, which I didn’t know about beforehand. I’m happy that you didn’t get any side effects from the second dose of the vaccine. I had some minor headaches when I had mine. I bet that the handloom exhibition was a lot of fun! Thank you for sharing 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.