Everyday Moments (#SOL-2021)

5-10-2021

The rains are reluctant to leave us 😊. It was raining for more than half an hour today evening. We did not go for our walk. A few nights ago, I woke up in the middle of the night to hear the sound of steady downpour. It was as if someone had opened the tap. On both occasions there was thunder and lightning.

Yesterday evening we were drinking tea when I saw something brown on the leaves of the yellow flowering plant in the garden. In Kannada we call the flowers Lambana.  It looked like dry leaves. Then I saw a symmetrical design. I went nearer and saw it was giant butterfly. Later I read about it and came to know it was an Atlas moth. It was big and we were seeing it for the first time. We took a lot of photos. Moths rest with their wings open and butterflies with their wings closed. Beauty of Nature!

On the 30th we attended the first death anniversary of my Doddamma, my father’s elder brother’s wife. I wrote to her once a week and she enjoyed reading my letters. For two years my slices of life were these letters. It was good to meet my cousins and other relatives. All of us wore masks. They have become a part of our lives.

One evening we went for a walk around the lake in our place. It is a rainwater harvested lake. It takes us about 25 minutes to walk around it. The water and the reflection of the sky and the Sun in the water is fascinating. They look different at different times. That day sky and the water looked a beautiful blue.

Life is going on and at the moment the virus seems far away but one never knows. Life has changed so much for so many.

The temple of Lord Krishna is an integral part of our town. It is more than 800 hundred years old. Sunday evening we walked in the temple square. Many pilgrims have started coming again. No vehicles are allowed in the square. We met family friends, they too were coming there after a long time.

I completed a fascinating book, Lectures on the Ramayana by Srinivasa Sastri. These are thirty lectures given by the author in 1949. They are thought provoking and tell us so much about the epic. Ramayana is an important part of our lives. Even now so much is being written based on it. Many a time I think of our epics and puranas when we say ‘forever’ 😊.

Lectures On The Ramayana by V.S. Srinivasa Sastri (goodreads.com)

Udupi Sri Krishna Temple | Kanaka Kindi Temple | Karnataka …

Attacus atlas – Wikipedia

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Attacus_atlas

Indian naturalists find giant moth in Western Ghats | India.com https://www.india.com/news/india/indian-naturalists-find-giant-moth-in…


Comments

13 responses to “Everyday Moments (#SOL-2021)”

  1. One of the things I miss by living on the ground floor of a five-storey building is the patter of the rain on the roof. In Mauritius rain was one of the great sources of delight to me. Regards.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the sound of rain. Regards

      Like

  2. Wow that moth is beautiful,

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We only get Atlas moths in zoos! You are so lucky to see a wild one.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Denise Krebs Avatar
    Denise Krebs

    Wow, you always have so many slices of life that are interesting to your readers. I love the photos this week. The atlas moths and the lake with clouds are beautiful. What a joy to have that walking path near your home. I didn’t realize it has already been one year since your Doddomma’s death. Peace to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That was an amazing moth. I would not have known whether to be scared or intrigued at the first moment I spied it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Interesting as always Lakshmi. Thank you. You were very lucky to be able to see the Atlas moth.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lakshmi, I really enjoy these little glimpses into your life! The moth is so pretty and so is the lake.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. That moth is well camouflaged. Thank you for the resting distinction between moths and butterflies

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thank you for adding your link to the document. I am happy to have the opportunity to stop by your blog. I am sorry to hear about your Doddamma. I can’t help but think that the arrival of your weekly letters must have brought much joy.

    I enjoyed the pictures and stories of the rain, the lake, and your town. It seems right now we all appreciate any glimpse of the normal we once knew. Let’s hope we are back there soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sorry to hear that your “Doddamma” passed away. Enjoyed reading your letters to her. I am traveling for last couple of weeks and not being able to follow or write regularly.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. That is indeed a beautiful moth. Thanks for telling us that bit of information about the wings.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I so enjoyed this post. In Victoria, B.C. not too far from where I live, there is a butterfly enclosure you can visit. They are all alive and fly around as you walk through. They have many beautiful moths there as well. I haven’t been there for awhile, so enjoyed seeing your lovely moth. Loved your lake as well. Enjoy each day. Cheers, Muriel

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.