Day 6 of the March  SOLSC! #SOL2022  

A few days ago we ate the first jackfruit of the year. Our neighbour gave us some arils in a box. They were delicious and the colour was a beautiful orange. Jackfruit trees are widely grown in our place. The timber is supposed to be very good for making furniture, doors and other woodwork.  We too have a tree in our back yard. Most of the trees in our garden were planted by the previous owners decades ago. There are ten coconut trees. Fortunately, they are in the borders of our plot.

Unfortunately, we had to cut two jackfruit trees. One was in the place where we were building our house. And other not far from the  house. The roots of this tree do not go far down, they spread just below the surface of the ground. We were advised to cut the tree. Our neighbours told us the fruits had been delicious. Our loss. We had to cut a mango tree too. But there are three more trees. We are happy to see fruits in two trees. Our daughter and grandchildren are coming on April 3rd. We are hoping the fruits will be ripe by then.

Last year our jackfruit tree bore only one fruit. God only knows why 😊. When there are many we share them with our neighbours and relatives. We use the fruit at different stages of its growth. We make different types of sambhars and other dishes. Dosas are made from raw and ripe jackfruits. A few days ago, we saw very small fruits. Hopefully they will remain. Many a time they become black and fall.

Yesterday my neighbour gave us some raw mangoes. She said they would not become ripe. Today I made pickles with some and Aam panna with the rest. Aam is mango in Hindi. The weather is becoming hotter and Aam panna is refreshing 😊. Mango, lime pickles and chutneys are a part of our daily food. I enjoy making them but in small quantities. We get a good variety of pickles in our place.

stoneware jar

My husband tells me during his childhood in the village, pickles were made and stored in large stoneware or ceramic jars. I have a small one 😊. Pickles and salted jackfruit or raw mangoes were stored in the attic above the kitchen. Firewood was usually used for cooking and the attics were always warm. Whatever was stored did not spoil. But we don’t use firewood or have such attics, I have to use the refrigerator to keep pickles which spoil soon😊. Life has changed a lot.

aam panna – Dassana’s Veg Recipes


Comments

14 responses to “Day 6 of the March  SOLSC! #SOL2022  ”

  1. Your slice is making me hungry for mangoes! I’ve never tried jackfruit, I’ll try to find some now. Thank you for this slice!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kristi Lonheim Avatar
    Kristi Lonheim

    I don’t understand the science of how something can be preserved in both the heat above and the cool of the refrigerator. Truth be told – there are many things I don’t understand! 🙂

    Like

    1. In those days there were no refrigerators in villages. Nothing got spoilt in attics which were warm. But if I keep certain types of pickles outside , after some days they spoil. It maybe due to the humidity and heat. We live in coastal South India. So I keep such items in the fridge.

      Like

  3. Fascinating culinary insights

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s fascinating to read about the different fruits in your country and how they influence your daily life and your relationships. It all sounds so exotic and delicious! I imagine here, people would write about apple trees, blackberries and blueberries. There might also be a pear tree or even a peach tree. Sadly, no mango trees in Maine. Our loss!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It is curious how the trees are so fickle in what they bear. Nice that you have access to so many different fruit trees. I love mango season here, but live in an apartment, so do not have my own access.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This slice got my mouth watering. I got up added a mango pickle to my food before commenting.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I imagine that our bulk manufactured mango pickle falls far short in taste and quality to your home made version!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your post brought back memories of my grandmother. She had a large crock that she used for pickles. She used the pickles and dill she grew in her garden to make them. They were delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Brian Rozinsky Avatar
    Brian Rozinsky

    Your slices never fail to transport me to another world, and I thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Book Dragon Avatar
    Book Dragon

    I love reading your slices and being transported to India, a country I have yet to visit.
    Thanks for sharing your culinary capers.
    I now want to go out and get a Dosa! It has been a month since I have eaten one.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Yummy! the whole idea got me hungry craving for achar.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The mango pickles and Aam panna look absolutely delicious – and that embroidery in the photos is gorgeous. I love these glimpses and tastes of your beautiful part of the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.