Day 22 of the March SOLSC! #SOL2022

The weather is becoming hotter and water melons and our star apples are a joy to eat. These days we are getting very sweet water melons and their rinds are thick. I don’t feel like throwing them. I make dry curries, we call them palya. They do not have a gravy. I cook the vegetable with salt, red chilli powder and a little jaggery and then season with mustard and red chillies. We make the same with the rind of ash gourd.  I also make dosas using water melon rind. They are tasty but my son  do not like them because they have an odd smell. Chutneys made with ridge gourd and bottle gourd peels are tasty.

One of our popular curries is ‘tambli’. I don’t think it has a name in English. It is made with coconut, buttermilk and different vegetables and herbs. We season all sorts of tambli generously with garlic. On our hill sides we get wild flowers called Kodagasana. We collect and sun dry them. They are used to make tambli. Our food is not very spicy. Coriander seeds, cumin seeds, black pepper, asafoetida, fenugreek seeds and certain grams like black gram are important ingredients in our cooking. On the wall next to my cooking area I have two stone shelves where I keep the spices and other condiments. I like to finish my kitchen work by 10.30 in the morning .

I remember those long ago days when I need much more time to cook. In two small notebooks I had written the recipes for our dishes. I measured everything but now I don’t have to. My hand knows the different quantities to be used 😊. It is a long time since I have looked up my recipe books 😊. There was one Kannada recipe book called ‘Adige’. Most Kannada speaking people had it with them. Adige means cooking.  These days there are so many food channels online. They give step by step information about the recipe. Maybe recipe books will become a thing of the past.

Vegetable idlis steamed in banana leaves

These days we get ‘ready to eat’ food items  in the  shops . Idli, chapati, dosa and other dishes are popular. I have never tried them 😊.  My cousin told me dosa batter is also available. I remember my father-in-law telling me in his time everything was made at home. No one dreamt of buying cooked food from outside. There have been unimaginable changes in Indian society over the last decades.

groundnut chutney powder

Comments

10 responses to “Day 22 of the March SOLSC! #SOL2022”

  1. It’s the same way here and the new trend is having fresh meals delivered to your home although we don’t do that people have just gotten so lazy they would rather pay for someone else to cook and deliver so they don’t have to look a finger! Or the ingredients are shipped in a box for you to cook. It’s so expensive, I don’t know how anyone affords it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I did not know peels and rinds can be used for chutneys etc… We used to make syrup with pineapple peels- khalass!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We have to cook them and grind with roasted red chillies, salt and little tamarind.

      Like

  3. I am looking forward to summer when watermelons are in here. Their sweet juiciness is a summer treat.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would have never thought of cooking the rind of water melons, and the concept of a dry curry seems strange to me. I am always learning from your posts Lakshmi.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This YouTube video is about the rind of Ash gourd. Ash gourd peel palya | Kumbalakai oodu palya | Ash …

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Book Dragon Avatar
    Book Dragon

    I love when you write about your cooking. I feel like I am in your kitchen peeking over your shoulder learning how to cook.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. We too have had “unimaginable changes ” to our life, compared to how my mother used to cook lunch and then cook an evening meal. But everybody did it then and didn’t think anything of it.
    And my wife doesn’t have to measure the quantities either. She knows enough by now to do it all by eye.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Shaista Avatar
    Shaista

    I love the rustic and homely feel of your posts, Lakshmi. I also do not know much about South Indian cooking, except the ubiquitous idli-dosa-wada. Oh, and lemon rice too! =))

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Brian Rozinsky Avatar
    Brian Rozinsky

    Unimaginable changes and, at the same moment, timeless recipes. The mind reels. Thanks for sharing your culinary creativity. Where I am winter is just starting to loosen its grip in favor of spring, which has me looking forward to more fruits and vegetables.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.