Everyday Moments-(SOL-2023)


2-08-2023

On the 31st  our daughter and grandchildren came. Gayatri,  Advaith and Kavya left Frankfurt on 30th morning.  They came via Dubai to  Bangalore.  There they had to wait for almost seven hours.  After check in, they went to eat something.  Gayatri was shocked to see the prices. The cost of one masala dosa was Rs 500. But people were eating something or the other!! Gayatri said they too ate something because it had been a long journey. They had to wait for almost seven hours in Bangalore.
Aravind and my husband went by taxi to Mangalore airport. 

Some months ago, my husband’s nephew had made a grafting of a wild mango tree which was growing in our village.  Two had survived. After the rains started we could not go to Mangalore to collect them. My husband called him whether they could come to collect the saplings. He said he would get them to his office which was on the way to the airport.  It was very nice of him.
Yesterday afternoon we planted the sapling.  Advaith and Kavya enjoyed themselves.


I had kept raw jackfruit arias in the freezer. Made dosas yesterday morning. On Sunday morning I made mango ice cream and got four thumbs up from our grandchildren 🥰. Yesterday evening we went to Venugopala temple. 
Life is very busy now. But I could finish The Covenant of Water by Abraham Verghese.  I had almost reached the ending.  It is one of the best books I have read in recent times.


Comments

17 responses to “Everyday Moments-(SOL-2023)”

  1. A seven hour wait…oh my. Glad everyone got there safely and that you are enjoying time with your daughter and grandchildren. Hope the sapling grows and eventually bears fruit. Homemade ice cream is always a special and enjoyable treat.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Lakshmi, it is always wonderful to have family and meaningful events to celebrate. Planting your saplings sounds wonderful especially since your grandchildren can view the progress again and again. Yummy-pass the mango ice cream please!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. san cassimally Avatar
    san cassimally

    So nice to have grandchildren around. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Enjoying time spent with grandchildren is one of the greatest pleasures in our lives, isn’t it?

    Liked by 2 people

  5. No wonder the food was expensive with a captive clientele. Good luck with the mango tree – Our granddaughter Flo, and her baby, Ellie, would love to grow one.

    Like

  6. Those have to be the yellowest shorts I have seen in a long time!!!

    Like

  7. How long do you get to have them there?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They will be with us till the 18th. Then they will go to Bangalore to be with their father’s parents till September 5th.

      Like

      1. Have fun!

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I hope you have a marvellous time with the grandchildren’s visit and you make lots of happy memories together.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What a joy to see how strong and healthy the kids have become. It is such pleasure to see one’s daughters children isn’t it. I am so glad you love the novel. As I mentioned I am now giving it a second listen.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Wow, that was a very long journey. But I’m glad they got there safe and sound. I hope that you have a lovely time with your family.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. How nice to see your family again! Would love to try your delicious mango ice cream. Happy times!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lakshmi, I can almost smell the fragrance of the mangoes. I hope the newly-planted sapling does well. Mango ice cream sounds amazing! I make lemon ice cream that my family loves – so refreshing. I hope you are having a wonderful visit with your own family. I know how much you must be cherishing every moment. I shall have to add The Covenant of Water to my reading list now. Thank you for all the beauty and peace you share with the world.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Denise Krebs Avatar
    Denise Krebs

    Lakshmi, what a joyful time it is with grandchildren. I’m so happy for you and that they get to spend several weeks with you. Enjoy this time with them! I just checked out the audiobook of The Covenant of Water read by Abraham Verghese. Thanks for the recommendation.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. That’s a long wait. Glad you get to enjoy their visit v

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.