Letter from home-9 (Slice of life)

slice-of-life_individual

( I remember those long ago days when we used to write letters to our near and dear ones regularly. Over the years there have been lot of changes in life. These are the days of the internet and we have stopped writing letters. Last year I started writing to my mother and my Doddamma (my father’s elder brother’s wife) She lives with her son and family. My cousin’s wife shows her my mails. My mother lives with my brother and my sister-in-law shows her my mails. My Doddamma is 86 and is not able to go out. My Amma and Doddamma enjoy the mails and the photos. The internet has really changed our lives, it helps us to keep some contact with our friends and relatives, if we want to😊. I am editing a few lines before posting in Slice of Life because it would be difficult to understand without knowing the details. I am also adding links to certain topics of interest. This mail is to my Doddamma, I have come to my brother’s home to see my mother. In December she was diagnosed lymphoma and is having chemotherapy. She is responding well.)

19-3-18

Dear Doddamma,

Yesterday was Ugadi and we seek your blessings. We are all fine. I made banana payasa. Evening we went to Mahishamardhini temple in Kadiyali not far from home. We like going to this temple specially for the evening Puja. The Puja is between 7.30 and 8. Many years ago we had been to this temple when you and doddappa had come to Manipal. You were happy to be there for the Puja.

IMG_20180122_181439

I am now in Hyderabad . I came here today morning. My flight was at 8.30 from Mangalore, Aravinda and Kuvara dropped me at the airport. The flight left at 9 and I was in Hyderabad by 10.15. Anna’s driver Ganesha had come to the airport. At the airport I was happy to see sparrows. We do not see much of them now.

20180319_102336

Amma is fine. Anna has gone to Rangoon and Cambodia on work.He will return Wednesday midnight. I am returning  home Thursday morning.

On the 14th night we got heavy rains for almost three hours. There was thunder and lightning too. There was a steady roll of thunder all the time. Then there was no electricity too. We have an invertor so we went to sleep, some time during the night electricity was restored. As soon as I got up I switched on the motor to fill water in the overhead tank. I had not been able to so the previous night. There have been rains in other nearly places.

The school of Communication of Manipal has been hosting an exhibition and sale of traditional arts, crafts and dress materials and saris, bedsheets and so on for more than ten years. This exhibition was held on 9th, 10th and 11th. We had been there and Aravind purchased a kurta for himself and one for Advaith and two kurtas for Gayatri. Vinay’s parents are going to Germany on April 10th, we will send these with them.

I had written earlier that we had got coconut plucked and the husk removed. We sold it a few days ago to coconut buyers and sellers. The price keeps varying from day to day. We got Rs 39.25 per kg. It is a good price.

Today evening Amma and I went to the park nearby for a short walk. We sat on a bench and watched boys playing football in the ground adjacent to the park. There are a lot of children in this colony .

20180319_173451

Every evening Amma sits outside the house watching them play. In May my brother, sister-in-law and Amma are coming to our place and Amma will be with us for some months.

I will write after I return.

With love,
Lakshmi

Namma Angadi | Manipal Academy of Higher Education
https://manipal.edu › … › Social Impact

Ugadi – Wikipedia
https://en.m.wikipedia.org › wiki › Ugadi

Letter from home-9 (Slice of life)

 


Comments

9 responses to “Letter from home-9 (Slice of life)”

  1. House Sparrows and playing football. A hundred years from now, you’ll be more English than the English!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Those home letters full of daily life and observation are so rare and should be cherished. Thank you for sharing. Enjoy your long visit with your mom. Yesterday I saw a cardinal which are becoming rare here. Your house sparrows however, in abundance

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Years ago we had plenty of house sparrows but over the years we are seeing less of them.

      Like

  3. I look forward to those epistles. I thought your photograph of the sparrow on the rectangular slabs could win a prize.
    San

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you San 😊

      Like

  4. Love the sparrow. We do get lots of them here. We placed a bird feeder outside our window so that as we have breakfast we can see the different birds enjoying their meal as well. With the snow that is forecast here for tonight and tomorrow I am sure they will be glad to have food readily available.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love several things about this-
    -It brought me into your world and I enjoyed being in a place very different from my home
    – it reminded me of the power and pleasure of real letters. And now it is so easy to illustrate them with photographs!
    – I enjoyed the love of family expressed in your letter.
    Thank you for sharing it with us!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This really is a true slice of life. It was fun to get a sense of your life, and it makes me think of the letters I send my grandmother about my ordinary days. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I thought of you when I saw a poster at our local library for a celebration of your holiday with all the colors.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.