Everyday Moments – (# SOL -2019 )

slice-of-life_individual

I believe that the moments in each day make our life what it is. Of course, the unexpected always happens and whatever preparations we make, Life surprises us. Many a time, we think that nothing happens in our life, but things do happen. I started writing to my Doddamma, my father’s elder brother’s wife in October 2017. She is 88 and is not able to hear properly. I post my letter to her every Tuesday. Both of us enjoy the letters. These letters have made it possible for me to appreciate the ordinary moments of life. I edit the letters and post them as Slice of Life every Tuesday.

1-07-19

20190630_122700  ( my mother-in-law’s brother)

Yesterday was my mother-in-law’s death anniversary. She passed way in 1980 when she was in her forties. My husband, being the elder son performs the rituals. We went to our village early in the morning. My father-in-law was feeling very upset that he had forgotten the date because he who has always told us the date looking at the ‘panchanga’(almanac). We told him that he had told us but he was not convinced. I was feeling very sad. We left at four and reached home by 6.30.I got home some of the food. Today morning I prepared ‘rice rotti’ using the cooked rice. I added rice powder, onions, green chillies and curry leaves. I made them on banana leaves. We all liked it.

20190701_074815

On the 25th my mother and I went to the hospital for her eye check up. She has cataract but at the very initial stage. She has no problem while reading or looking at far away objects. She has been prescribed new glasses. She was very happy that she need not have an operation. She has got the glasses and is very happy with them.
Today I went to Asare, home for the mentally challenged. Last week I could go only once. I usually try to go three times a week.

On the 27th we attended the second day function of my husband’s cousin’s son’s wedding. The wedding is hosted by the bride’s family and the second day by the bridegroom’s family. There are many rituals and the bride enters her new home for the first time. We returned in the evening after visiting my husband’s another cousin and my Doddamma’s younger brother on the way back.

20190627_111824 ( my husband and his cousin)

Our son had gone to Bangalore to get mobility training at the National Association for the Blind (NAB) in Bangalore. The first two days he was taught how to use the white cane. The other days he explored the city by himself after reporting at the institution every morning. He went by bus, train and metro by himself and everywhere people helped him. He is very happy that he can now go by himself anywhere he wants to. This training has given him more confidence. He reached home on the 28th morning.

20190629_174223

We are going for our evening walks. We take umbrellas because we do not when it will rain. It does not rain the whole day like it used to. Now we get passing showers. When it rains, it just pours, then stops and there is sunshine. Everyone in worried about the rains. But there is nothing we can do. It is definitely due to climate change. We have to take each day as it comes. It is being said monsoon will be normal. We are keeping our fingers crossed. We are feeling happy that it is raining. 😊 Life goes on.

Hope is the feeling we have that the feeling we have is not permanent.
~Mignon McLaughlin,

Panchangam – Wikipedia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Panchangam

akki rotti recipe | rice roti recipe – hebbarskitchen.com
https://hebbarskitchen.com/akki-rotti

 


Comments

9 responses to “Everyday Moments – (# SOL -2019 )”

  1. Always interesting to read accounts of your daily life. I must try and make some rice rotis now. I will have to experiment. Greetings SAN

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you San. You can follow the link. I did not want to waste the cooked rice, so I crushed it in the mixer and added the other ingredients.

      Like

  2. I enjoy reading about your culture, which is different than mine. Unlike my family, you have a ritual for the anniversary of a death that happened long ago, a wedding that is multiple days, and a monsoon season to contend with. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So many slices of life captured in this writing, for family rituals, to cooking, to the relentless impact of weather. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Did your son’s vision get worse or did he just decide to take the training to gain more independence? I am so glad for him that he got to take the training.

    Like

    1. Actually he wanted to go for the training quite some time. While doing his PhD in Hyderabad he somehow could not find time. Now the time came. His vision is the same for many years. He can make out light and some forms. Till 6th std he could write big letters. Then his vision decreased. He had scribes to write for him till he completed undergraduation. By then we had come to know about the talking software called JAWS. After that he wrote everything on the computer. Technology has really helped.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I thought it had stayed the same and hoped that was the case. I am glad that he was able to go to the training finally.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I am happy to hear about your son’s newfound independence. As we were driving home from visiting my wife’s cousin (an hour and a half ride) we hit two pockets of heavy rain. Made driving difficult.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That’s wonderful that your son is able to get around. It must have felt so good for him to just wander and explore the city on his own. So glad to see, as you said above, that technology is also helping.

    There is something really striking about this particular entry for me. Different people in different stages of life all happening at the same time. There’s a real beauty to the way you’ve described it.

    Once again your food looks SO good. I can just about smell and taste it from here! Were those rice roti cheela? I had those in Chhattisgarh when I was there, and in the Konkan region we had ghavan which, I think were about the same (I’ve even made those) In any case, the addition of onions, chillies, and curry leaves sounds amazing. That combination of flavours is one of my favourites.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.