Everyday Moments ( #SOL-2019)

slice-of-life_individual

My weekly Slice of Life are my letters to my Doddamma. She is my father’s elder brother’s wife. Doddamma literally means ‘elder mother’. She is 88 years old. She cannot hear properly if I telephone to talk to her. So, I have been writing letters to her since October 2017. I enjoy writing letters and she is happy to read them. They are only about the everyday moments in my life. I post my letters to her every week.

17-12-19
My brother-in-law called yesterday evening to say that my father-in-law had not eaten anything the whole day and had also been sleeping the whole time. He was worried. My husband went to be with his father. Later my brother-in-law called to say that he had woken up and had eaten food. My husband will return tomorrow morning. Actually, he had been to our village to attend the death anniversary function of his father’s elder brother in his ancestral house.

DSC02929

( the ancestral home, photo taken in the 1950s)

We are enjoying the company of my younger brother and family. They live in Australia and have come for their yearly vacation. I am cooking our traditional food for our nephews and they are enjoying them. Yesterday I made groundnut copra chutney powder. It is very tasty. We all like it. I make fresh coconut chutney for breakfast but it is nice to have a dry chutney too. We get them in the market but I like to make them at home. We have started getting oranges. We like rasam made with orange peel. I also make orange peel flavoured chutney powder.

20191217_082011

We all love books so there is a lot to talk. They are leaving for Hyderabad on the 20th. My elder brother lives there. We are enjoying our evening walks. My mother was happy to introduce my brother to her walking friend.

Image0866

Last week I went to Asare. I was cutting the organdie material for making petals for the roses. This material is bought form a wholesale market in Bangalore. The material has to be a little stiff for the petals to look nice. While leaving I told them I would come on the 21st as my brother and family will be with us.
2019 is coming to an end. Lot of unrest is happening in the political front. I wonder what the coming year will be like.

20191217_175804

“Hope smiles from the threshold of the year to come,
Whispering ‘it will be happier’…”
― Alfred Lord Tennyson


Comments

6 responses to “Everyday Moments ( #SOL-2019)”

  1. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski Avatar
    Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski

    I love your final quote. Your letter is such a “window” for me, rather than a mirror. It introduces me to routines and places that feel unfamiliar to me. I love that you have this weekly correspondence!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Kathleen.

      Like

  2. I think many of us wonder what the coming year will bring. It is always nice when family comes to visit especially if they live far away and we only get to see them occasionally.I really do enjoy these weekly glimpses into your family life. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So interesting as always. I also wonder what 2020 will hold – not just for India but other countries as well. It’s a bit of a volatile time right now.

    On a completely unrelated note, I have heard about dry chutney before but wonder how you usually eat it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We add a little coconut oil to the dry chutney powder. I like to add the powder to curds too.

      Like

      1. Oh that sounds excellent!

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.