Everyday Moments (#SOL- 2020)

5-08-2020

It has been a rainy week, sometimes pouring rain and sometimes drizzling. Yesterday evening it was not raining and we decided to go for our evening walk. When we were a little away from home we saw dark clouds approaching us. There is something very majestic about the way dark clouds gather and move. It started raining, we had our umbrellas and there is a nice feeling about walking in the rain 😊 We got wet but not drenched. But yesterday night due to heavy rain and wind, we did not have electricity supply the whole night. We have an inverter so we did not have any problem. There are many coconut trees and during the rainy season the fronds fall and if they fall on electric wires, they have to be removed for the supply to resume.

The coronavirus situation is very bad but it is being said the recovery cases are good. The economy is in a bad shape and God knows how long it will take for it recover. Aravinda goes by auto rickshaw to his college. The drivers say with no students in the campus there are very few people who travel by the auto rickshaw. Yesterday I was talking to the driver in whose vehicle Aravinda came home. I have known the driver, Shiva, for a long time. At different times his mother and sisters worked in our house when we were in the campus. He said Aravind and one more person were his only customers in the afternoon. That has been the case since the virus came into our lives. Life is very difficult for those who live on daily earnings.

It seems strange when all this is happening to us, life in nature specially is going on as it had gone on earlier. Of course, there will be ups in their lives. Early in the morning I do yoga to the accompaniment of birds’ voices. I wonder what they are telling each voices. They are busy searching for food. They love to chatter 😊. Last week, I saw a bird which I had not seen. My husband told me it was a wild fowl. I took a photo from the window but when I went out it flew away. We are seeing a lot of peacocks these days and monkeys too. It is fascinating to see the babies clinging to the bellies of the mothers.

Our grandson’s summer vacation started from 29th. My grandson told me he would have been sleeping in the plane if they could have come! We will miss their visit.

I am writing to my doddamma every week. Last week, I sent a message to Sujata, her daughter-in-law that I had sent the mail. At that moment she was reading it aloud, she made a video call. Doddamma could not speak much but she was very happy to hear us talk to her. I showed her inside and outside of our house. She has not come to our house. She has not come this side for more than fifteen years.

My mother too was feeling very tired and was having pain in her leg. She is with my elder brother. She had lymphoma in November 2017 and recovered. We were worried but her blood report is normal. Her physio therapist is helping her. Hope my mother feels better soon.

We change so much as we grow older. A character in a book said if there are no pains in a person who is eighty plus then he must be dead !!

Tamil Nadu village goes without streetlights for 35 days to make … https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/madurai/tn-village-goes…

Herd immunity may be developing in Mumbai’s poorest areas | …https://www.deccanherald.com/opinion/panorama/herd-immunity-may-be…

The enduring allure of Hampi | Deccan Herald https://www.deccanherald.com/…/the-enduring-allure-of-hampi-868289.html

In getting together for work, communities come together | Deccan …

https://www.deccanherald.com/spectrum/in-getting-together-for-work…

Arebase: A dialect rooted in cultural harmony | Deccan Herald https://www.deccanherald.com/spectrum/spectrum-top-stories/arebase-a..

Irvathur GP implements ‘Hasiru Karnataka’ through women | …https://www.deccanherald.com/state/mangaluru/irvathur-gp-implements..


Comments

5 responses to “Everyday Moments (#SOL- 2020)”

  1. I hope your mother recovers fully soon SAN

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am glad you can keep in contact with your family members. Except for my daughter’s family, there is no other members of my family. So many of my long-time friends are gone, too. Enjoy your family as much as possible, sharing your stories and life.

    Like

  3. I enjoy listening to the birds in the morning. I like to believe that they are discussing their plans for the day. This pandemic is really taking it’s toll on those who provide daily service to others.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are absolutely right. Nature is taking no notice whatsoever of our problems.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Same thing happening in my country. Wish this will be over soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.