Everyday Moments ( # SOL-2021)

19-01-2021

Yesterday morning we attended the house warming ceremony of a neighbour. According to our custom, people consult their priest and at an auspicious moment the family members enter the house for the first time. We attended that and we were the only people with masks on!! We stayed for half an hour and came back. We were later told there was a huge gathering for lunch. These days many do not wear masks. We believe that we should take care, we cannot be sure that we will not get the virus. Anyway, people have to understand and be responsible.

Mud is being removed from the plot behind our house. JCB is at work the whole day and mud is being transported whole day long. Last three or four days we have been suffering cold due to that. My husband had little fever too and he decides to have a Covid test. Fortunately, the result was negative. It is a sad state of affairs that common cold is making us scared ☹. The weather too is not what it used to be earlier. The days are very cloudy and in between we see the sun trying to peep out.

While returning from the house warming ceremony, we met another neighbour. A little away there is a half-constructed building. It has been like that for years. We asked him the reason. In my part of the country,  actually everywhere in India, people worship snakes, especially the King Cobra. The owner of the plot had been advised not to construct a building there due to presence of many snake burrows. But he went ahead and destroyed them. People believe because of that deed he has not been able to complete the building. He has lost money now and cannot even think of completing the work. We believe  there are many things in life which cannot be answered by science or reason.

On the 15th was our daughter’s birthday, she is 34. How time flies! On the 17th was her wedding anniversary. Gayatri and Vinay were married ten years ago. I learnt that we can make collages in Samsung gallery. I made two and shared them . Due to lock down they stayed at home. They live in Germany. It is snowing there and our grandchildren are enjoying themselves 😊.

On the 16th morning looking out of our kitchen window I saw a beautiful little bird, I was seeing it for the first time. It was kind enough to wait for me to get my mobile and take photos. I later learnt it is the Indian Pitta.  There are many coconut trees around us and I love to see the gentle swaying of the fronds. It made my day.  Later I made raw mango paste-pickles  and chutney powder. I enjoy making them. They taste good with dosas.  My husband’s cousins came home yesterday evening. We had not seen them for long. They called to ask whether they could come. We said yes. We enjoyed their company. But I missed our International Book club meeting.  There is always another time.

So, Life goes on.


Comments

17 responses to “Everyday Moments ( # SOL-2021)”

  1. Thank you for your day-to-day stories which gives me such a nice impression of your life in India!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are brave to entertain guests in your home or to go to others’ homes. We don’t do that here in California unless we can be outside the entire time. We continue to do our very best to stay safe during the pandemic, especially now that a new strain of the virus has come to our state.

    I have a former student living in Germany and she sends posts of their life there during the pandemic. They were allowed to travel for awhile and then the cases increased and everyone was in lockdown again. I wish people would just stay home until we have all been vaccinated.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am so thankful your husband does not have covid. It is such a hard time when people will not wear masks. Your photos are lovely. The bird is quite an interesting one. It is so beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We also continue to wear masks when out in public which for us means grocery shopping or doctor’s appointment. I am glad to hear your husband tested negative. I think many people think the worse these days when they are not feeling well. We enjoy watching the birds that vist our bird feeder. It is interesting to see which ones come year round and which are seasonal.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That pitta is a really beautiful bird. Pittas are a large family of birds and live all over Africa and southern and south-eastern Asia. Just look how beautiful they are:

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pitta

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes they are so beautiful.

      Like

  6. haitiruth Avatar
    haitiruth

    I love your newsy slice! Thank you! Ruth, thereisnosuchthingasagodforsakentown.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  7. We love the stories of your life there in India. I am glad to hear it was only a cold and not Covid. Stay well!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. As of this writing, India is 2nd to US for the most number of Covid-19 and still, most do not wear facemasks in a gathering? Here in the Phil. , we have to wear face masks and shields in public places and parties are not allowed, but of course, some people are stubborn. We have about an average of 1,500 new cases each day.

    Like

    1. Cases here have come down a lot. People who are careful wear, others do not.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m so pleased the Covid test was negative

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love the collages you were able to make. I remembered when your grandchildren were little too. I had to miss the book group last Sunday also because I had church. I hope we meet up there again soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I too missed. Can you go to the church now?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No just on line, but this time the times conflicted. Usually I can go on Saturday evening.

        Liked by 1 person

  11. cmargocs Avatar
    cmargocs

    I so enjoy hearing the details of your life across the globe. So much of what we are experiencing is the same–dealing with the pandemic, taking care of ourselves, worrying about every little cough, even the strange weather. I am doing a lot more bird watching, too! And I lived in Germany with my family for awhile growing up; you brought back good memories with your pictures. Lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lovely to read your simple observations of daily life

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.