Day 23 of the March SOLSC! #SOL21

Books have been always been a part of my life. In my family all of us love to read. Memories of my grandfather reading aloud to us remain with me. Countless books have taken me to that many worlds. For years I read only one book at a time. I could not imagine starting one before completing the other.

And I remember reading through the night to complete a book. 😊
Now I  do not do that, a good night’s sleep is more important than finishing a book. The habit of reading one book at a time changed over the years. I am not sure when this happened.  Now I read at least two books at a time. Last year I started listening to audio books. The books that I have listened to, till now, have had wonderful narrators. They brought the books alive.

I remembered those days when I read books to Aravind. I started reading to him from the time he could understand. I did not want him to miss out the world of books. The computer,  internet and talking softwares opened the world to him. But, even now I read to him for the love of it. We are reading The Overstory by Richard Powers. It is an amazing book.

At present I am reading a commentary on Mahabharata by Chaturvedi Badrinath and Lectures on Ramayana by Srinivasa Sastri and an English translation of a Kannada book, Defiance by Na Mogasale.  It would be wonderful if we could read books in their original language but I am thankful for translations because they help us to have a glimpse into another world. My reading speed in Kannada is slow and I have to read each word. It takes me a long time to complete a book. In that time I can finish two books in English 😊.

I am listening to Don Quixote in Audibles and loving each moment of the story.  There are so many stories within the  main story. I listen while I am cooking. 

Two days ago I went to the library after a long time. I got an English translation, The House of Kanooru by the great Kannada writer,  K V Puttappa and known as Kuvempu. It is a wonderful book. As it is from the library and I have to return it in two weeks, I have come back to the beginning. I have stopped reading the other books for the time being. I am reading only this book. 😊


Comments

14 responses to “Day 23 of the March SOLSC! #SOL21”

  1. Books are simply capsules of transport to other minds, other places, other times, all wrapped up in cozy and steeped in warmth. Aren’t we blessed to be readers?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You have such a robust reading life! I typically only read one pleasure book at a time and one professional but, but I’m seeing more and more readers juggle more than one, like you. I might have to give it a try and see if it enriches my experience. Thanks for the reminder to tend to my reading life this morning!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I come from a reading family too. There were always books, newspapers and magazines available to us. I like reading a couple of books at the same time. So many books to read!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. san cassimally Avatar
    san cassimally

    I am full of admiration for your devotion to the written word. Over the years you must have acquired an interesting overview of the human condition. All best.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you San.

      Like

  5. Reading has always been an important part of my life as well. As a child I had a whole collection of little golden books. I usually have two books going at the same time – one on my kindle and one in hand.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your slice shares your reading life so well. It makes me think about mine, even though I struggle to finish many novels during the school year. I always look forward to the holidays when I can binge read , a few books at a time.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Our habits as readers are similar but I am struck by the books that you will know, that I will never know. It is wonderful to share this glimpse to broaden our idea of reading and expose us to books from other places. And I commend you in reading in another language- however slow 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I always have multiple books on the go too!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I enjoyed reading about your changing reading life. I have also shifted to multiple books, some on audio and some in print. It is fun. I hold the one rule for shows, watching all of one show before I get heavily involved in another. I enjoyed hearing about books I do not see on the shelves at our local library or bookstore.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Brian Rozinsky Avatar
    Brian Rozinsky

    Sometimes one book has our full attention, and other times we juggle. Either way, your reading life sounds full!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes🙂 we read in the papers and people being shot in the grocery store. It is terrible and we never know what is in store for us round the corner.

      Like

  11. I have two books on the go, and one on Kindle. I hope I remember it all!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I firmly believe that one is never bored when a book is available.

    Like

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.