Day 22 of the March SOLSC! #SOL21

I love taking part in Slice of Life and in Stream of consciousness hosted by Linda G Hill . This week’s prompt is to use words that start with the letters ‘cal’. I was in the kitchen thinking which words started with those letters when my gaze fell on the calendar I hang there. It is the Sharada Calendar and is very popular. We buy it every year in December.

It shows details of our Hindu calendar too. My husband uses the calendar more than I do.  It gives information about auspicious dates, sunset and sunrise times and other details. We learn something about the night sky and the position of the stars. It tells us on which night there is a full moon.
From the full moon to New moon there are fifteen days and is called Krishnapaksha in our Hindu calendar.  The moon decreases in size till it is not seen at all. I used to wonder why it is called new moon when no moon is seen at all? 😊
From new moon to full moon there are fifteen days and is called Shuklapaksha.

It has been observed that there is a high tide on full moon and new moon nights. I have never been in the beach at night. But many years ago we were in a place called Murudeshwara, about two hours from our place. The guest house was by the beach and we could hear the waves at night. I loved listening to them. They seemed to tell us something.

Writing about calendars, the lunar and solar calendars are also equally important.  My father remembered Shravana Masa ( Masa is month), a month in the Lunar calendar which came during the monsoon season. My grandparents lived in a town called Hospet. Many poojas were performed by people during this month. Women went to each other’s house to take part in the prayers. My father and his friends tagged along with my grandmother. After the prayers kosambari was given as prasad. My father said he and his friends ate it at every house they visited. They enjoyed Shravana Masa and waited for it every year 😊

http://www.sharadapress.com/in-house%20printing.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lunar_calendar

Kosambari Recipe | Kosambari Salad | Moong Dal Salad


Comments

11 responses to “Day 22 of the March SOLSC! #SOL21”

  1. That is certainly a useful calendar

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cassimally Avatar
    cassimally

    Best regards

    Liked by 1 person

  3. With all of the various religious activities, the calendar is a must!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We don’t follow all those religious activities but my husband likes to know what is happening when . And we have become so used to the calendar.

      Like

  4. Orval Jewett Avatar
    Orval Jewett

    Thank you for this beautiful piece of writing. It means so much to me to learn about cultural traditions. Many of us have traditions that we hold very dear. Thank you so much for sharing these with us.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What an informative calendar. I really enjoyed this, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Calendars do so much more than just tell us the month and day.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow! What a great calendar! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Denise Krebs Avatar
    Denise Krebs

    Wow, look at how you were given three letters, and it developed into this instructional and interesting post about your Hindu calendar. There are so many things to know! I think I will try the recipe for kosambari. I have all the ingredients!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Brian Rozinsky Avatar
    Brian Rozinsky

    I calculate that the caliber of this slice is super. That calendar? An excellent call!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A wonderful use of the letters🙂

      Like

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.