Day 9 of the March  SOLSC! #SOL2022 

My brother and I with our grandfather

Yesterday I  had written about chance happenings in my grandfather’s life which proved to be turning points. He used to wonder what his life would have been like if those happenings had not happened. I think there are turning points in each person’s life. They may make or destroy our lives.

When Aravind was completing his under graduation he knew he wanted to study English Literature  and was thinking of joining the university in the next city. One day his professor told him that he should write the entrance exam for MA in the Central Institute of English and Foreign Languages (CIEFL) in  Hyderabad. Hyderabad was a familiar place for us. My father had been posted there years ago, my brother and family lived there but we had not known about CIEFL. Aravind wrote the All India Entrance exam and was selected. Later CIEFL became The English and Foreign languages University. He went on to study MA, MPhil and PhD there. His life would have been different if his professor had not told him about that institute 😊.

I remember more than thirty years ago my parents settled in a small town after my father retired from service. Putha and his wife Appi worked for them. After some years Putha passed away. Appi continued coming and her younger son came along with her. Narayana was a year older than Aravind. My father started teaching him arithmetic and other subjects. Narayana continued his education with my father’s help. He joined a diploma course in engineering in a nearby college. It was a three year course but he took more time. But he was interested in his studies and my father taught him every day. He passed, got a job and did well. Appi continued working with my mother till my father passed away in 2016. Narayana always came to see my parents when he came home. Even now he calls my mother once a month. He got married and has a daughter. He sends her photos to me, and I show it to my mother. As a small boy if he had not started coming to my parents’ home, life would have been very different for him. He was the first person in his family to study beyond primary school.

When I sit back and think about chance happenings, I feel there is some Power with a purpose behind everything that happens. Maybe it is easier to think so, because there are no answers for many questions in life. 😊


Comments

12 responses to “Day 9 of the March  SOLSC! #SOL2022 ”

  1. You are so right about those life changing events

    Liked by 3 people

  2. These “what if” wonderings are always so interesting to think about. You also have me thinking about power with a purpose. (On a side note, I read your “about me” information. It was encouraging to think that there is not enough darkness to put out the small light. I needed that reminder.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. cmargocs Avatar
    cmargocs

    It fills the heart to look back and see connections that bore wonderful results. Have you read The Midnight Library? It is about just that–the different paths our lives can take based on the choices we make.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. No, I have not read the book. Will see if I can get it. Thank you.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m sure you’ve come across Robert Frost’s The Road Not Taken. It incorporates the ideas inherent in your piece.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I agree with you, I have some of those “what if” stories as well. What if I had not made the decision to enter the service, how different would my life would have been never leaving my parents home. What if the recruiter hadn’t come to speak to us in government class, I’d have never got the idea to go I to the service! What if I’d told my friend no the night she wanted me to go to some club I’d never been-I’d have never met my husband of almost 38 years! Life if a mystery for sure!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wise words indeed Lakshmi. Even the smallest gesture and helping hand can make huge differences to a person’s life!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Indeed, looking back at decisions I made without any serious thought have affected my life in dramatic ways. Interesting post. Cheers, Muriel

    Liked by 1 person

  8. We all meet people in our lives who shape and change us. We don’t always know the impact of these meetings at the time, but they become evident as our lives progress.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I do believe in a great and loving power acting behind the scenes to our benefit. That has certainly been the case with my many “chance” meetings and events.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Those little moments that we don’t necessarily think about when they are happening can have such dramatic consequences in our lives and in the lives of others!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. […] Lakshmi commented that living in a city must make it harder to deal with misophonia. Do you know, until I read her words, it had never once occurred to me that living in this huge, many-peopled city must absolutely have made this disorder worse for me. Just from the greater number of people I encounter in a day, the triggers would increase exponentially. And, by the same token, the fact that I’ve spent so much of the last two years alone in my house has meant that I’ve had significantly fewer run-ins with trigger sounds. How have I not seen that? […]

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.