Day 12 of the March  SOLSC! #SOL2022 

Quite some time ago I read somewhere that people who say they have only one life to live, do not read books 😊. It is true. Good books take us to different worlds inhabited by all types of people. While reading a book we are in that world, with people living their lives there. I liked these lines written in a book by D E Stevenson, ‘The story-teller has always been a valuable member of society. Even in prehistoric times when men hunted wild beasts and lived in caves they sat round the camp-fire at night and listened to stories.’

I am reading Women Writing of India, 600BC to early 20th century edited by Susie Tharu and K Lalita. I read about so many writers and their times. I enjoy reading more about them and Google helps 😊. Most of the writers wrote about their everyday life. They had to struggle to follow their dreams. In those long ago days girls hardly studied beyond primary school. They were married off even before they reached their teens. Tragically some girls became widows even before they went to live with their husband.  My Doddamma’s elder sister was married off at the age of seven ! Doddamma completed high school because her mother insisted that she should go to school. She married after completing high school, maybe she was 16 or 17. That was considered old in those days! (Doddamma in my language, Kannada, literally means elder mother. Her name was Parameshwari, she was my father’s elder brother’s wife.)

Going back to the book, Geeta Sane was a relatively unknown feminist writer who worked in the 1930s and 1940s.  She writes about the contradictions that women faced in the first decades of the 20th century.  She says the much-vaunted liberal ideals of the time like ideals of individualism and personal fulfilment stopped strangely short of women’s lives and their desires. The plight of widows was tragic. It was a man’s world!

Fortunately, life has changed a lot now. Girls are studying and becoming financially independent. But I am not very sure if life has changed all that much for women everywhere. We still read a lot about domestic violence. It became very bad during the pandemic. There is so much suffering in the world, we cannot even imagine some of it. Only human beings among all animals are evil for the fun of it. That is the tragedy of life.

But when I read about the suffering of women, I always wonder why we do not get to read the same about men. It is not as if women cannot be cruel and make life a hell for their families. It is tragic that men cannot or are not able to express their feelings easily. I remember a small boy telling me he did not like Roger Federer because he cried!


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nanjangud_Tirumalamba

Women Writing in India: 600 B.C. to the early twentieth … https://books.google.co.in/books?id=OjZYf9Xf9bcC


Comments

13 responses to “Day 12 of the March  SOLSC! #SOL2022 ”

  1. This is a very enlightening post, Lakshmi. I had never thought of these little girls being widowed before being old enough to live with their husbands.

    Like

    1. Derrick, in those days many died at a young age. Though girls were married off at the ages of 7 and 8, they went to their husband’s house after puberty. My father’s cousin was a child widow. My father had told me fortunately for her she was well looked after by her husband’s family. But most girls were not so fortunate.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I learned a lot in just reading your observations. Your closing reflections about cruelty as a specific feature of humans rings painfully true. It is tragic that men are still discouraged from expressing their feelings and showing weakness or a need for support. I think about this a lot as a mother of sons. I hope that they have internalized the messages we’ve tried to convey about being true to themselves and reaching out for help. Time will tell. Your slice gave me a lot to think about.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a powerful slice Lakshmi. It is true that men don’t get to express themselves, and neither is there enough literature on their plight.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lakshmi, I would love to read this book. I find ordinary lives to be the most extraordinary. I wholeheartedly agree with books as passports to other worlds where we can experience lives of others (and learn). The role of storyteller IS invaluable to culture, to humanity itself. Your stories are fascinating, especially these on arranged marriages when children are so young (reminding me of some royal history: King Tut was 10; Anne de Mowbray was 6 when married to Richard, Duke of York, who was 4; he died in the Tower of London at age 10). Domestic violence and our species being the only one to choose evil for the fun of it – I think of this so, so often, and grieve. Thank you for this space of learning and reflection today!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Had I known that he cried, I might have disliked Federer less!

    Like

    1. You dislike Federer!! My husband’s idol😀

      Like

  6. Your slice reminds me of International Women’s Day, which was last Tuesday. We need to celebrate the women in our lives, past and present, and learn more about their stories. Thank you for sharing today. That book sounds very enlightening.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Very interesting and thought provoking. Thank you once again!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Reading stories of women from the past gives us a cleared picture of what life was like back in the times. The struggles they faces and the problems of the world at the time helps us understand how we got to where we are today.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Brian Rozinsky Avatar
    Brian Rozinsky

    Your observation about change, but not that much or not enough, resonates as recent headlines in my country about identity-constraining laws being considered by some states have me feeling queasy. (And since you shared, I’ll return the favor: My reading at the moment is _Black Birds in the Sky_ by Brandi Colbert. In keeping with your slice’s theme about what is and what isn’t changing, this nonfiction book is about the 1921 Tulsa Race massacre in Oklahoma.)

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I think that the suffering of men is seldom as victims of violence, and that may be the reason we do not hear so much about it.

    Like

  11. An interesting slice of life- food for thought to rekindle ourselves!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are welcome :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.